Freedom; That Bliss

The flock of chirping birds
Remind me everyday
At dusk and dawn
“There is life out there”

That’s how I count my days
Not feeling time slide
Behind the Net

I keep telling myself
I need to disengage from the past
And live the present
Its wonders

Its diverse, intermingled society
Living the day
Working hard
Partying hard
With Peaceful
Happy faces
They are from California

Its beautiful beaches
Bay area
When crossing it through bridges
Stretches on the beaches sunbathing
Like a diva in a white bikini
Contrasting her bronze skin
Of its earthy color
To a bright day
And a merciful sun

Biking in its ever-green parks
Dunes and oasis
Taking long walks
Zigzagging the alleys and main streets
Till the muscles ache
With pleasurable pain

Plays, operas
Art festivals
San Francisco, San Jose
Mini-Gulfing at the outskirts
On cool sunny days

Ah, and the strawberries
Have a special allure when
Dipped in dark chocolate
And licked off the nose of your lover
Amidst shore breeze
Wooing strands of your hair

Public freedom is bliss
No less
Than personal freedom
I am one of the lucky ones
I guess I consider myself one
I live this bliss
Not perfect
But utterly
Comfortable

And that’s why
Its almost impossible for me to leave the Net
When my kin
Is deprived
Of its natural senses
Under the attire of
Pretentious virtue

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mozart
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 10:45:51

    are these your own words ?

    🙂

    خلينا على شاعر المليون و ناقتي يا ناقتي

    Reply

  2. AyyA
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 11:36:12

    Yes Mozart they’re mine, not very happy with it though, so you can see I keep changing it

    😀

    Reply

  3. شرقاوي
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 17:24:36

    Did you mean San Jose, or was that intentional?

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 22:37:53

    Nope, that was a mistake, not intentional, thanks 🙂
    To be honest with you Sharqawi; I don’t feel like writing anymore, let alone checking what I scribble.

    Reply

  5. شرقاوي
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 06:30:04

    Just a writer’s block, I hope.

    I just finished reading about a torture device with which the Puritans of England used to punish their women.

    The Puritans are another interesting lot. They revolted , and executed a king. Ruled, and ruined England for ten years.

    The branks were used to punish outspoken women.

    I am waiting for your next post.

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 10:37:20

    Sharqawi
    We may not be far from branks for much trivial reasons than being outspoken. A recent study of Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences has shown that over 90 percent of Pakistani wives have been struck, beaten, or abused sexually for offences on the order of cooking an unsatisfactory meal. Others were punished for failing to give birth to a male child. And we are in the twenty-first century, not in the medieval ages.
    Thanks dear for the encouragement, writer’s block I believe is not knowing what to write, but for me I have a lot to talk about, I just lost the urge and I hope it’s only a phase.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

