Greeting my Country

Welcome home, I hear all over
Smiling faces, lovely faces
Drawn through calamities
Yet, appear to be happy

Are they really happy!
I wonder
If they’re not just too busy
Living

Some got married
Some still waiting
Some, like me, still fighting
Anticipating

But against nature’s will
Most stayed still
Their boats did not seem to have passed
Other shores

What goes on beyond the fence
Is someone else’s business
Even when the fence is
A fantasy

Rigid, in silence complaining
Like Buddha statue
Waiting, meditating for
Nothing

Somehow life has halted here
But I can’t stop the rush of emotions
I blame on a history of senses
That keeps me in love

Regardless of the bad news
Regardless of the cuffs and
Regardless of the bearded guys
Next door

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheers
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 00:39:56

    Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day

    You fritter and waste the hours in offhand way

    Kicking around on a piece of ground in your home town

    Waiting for someone or something to show you the way

    Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain

    You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today

    And then one day you find ten years have got behind you

    No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun

    And you run and you run to catch up with the sun, but it’s sinking

    And racing around to come up behind you again

    The sun is the same in a relative way, but you’re older

    Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

    Every year is getting shorter; never seem to find the time

    Plans that either come to naught or half a paper of scribbled lines

    Hanging on in a quite desperation is the English way

    The time is gone the song is over, thought I had something more to say.

    Reply

  2. AyyA
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 01:41:55

    Cheers
    Of course, Pink Floyd, good time for reminding me. Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  3. mozart
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 09:45:34

    im losing hope in this place just read my last post and ull understand

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:02:05

    Dear Mozart
    I have lost hope long back, that’s why I stopped writing about politics. I have gotten tiered of complaining when all indications are negative and there is nothing that can be done. You see, the problem is not the administration as much as is the people themselves. Worst corruptive governments were toppled by the will of people. Slavery did not stop until the slaves themselves revolted. And nothing can change until people themselves demand it. Unfortunately, the political and religious haywire that the country was exposed to since at least the last two decades created dependant citizens, all what they care about is now, future for them stopped having any meaning. Clinging to a tribe has given them a sense of false security that they have lost ever since the invasion, and kept them blindfolded to the future consequences of this path.
    But to keep a shred of hope still alive in my heart, I keep convincing myself that things have to get worse for it to get better. This hope I can see in the new generation, the informatics generation. I don’t mean by that statement that they should complain or revolt, rather educate others and light the path that has been long immersed in ignorance. We have a rather good constitution, be it an aged one, and if we use it wisely, a lot can be done. The only winning card that we have is making the right choices in electing the people who represent us in power; those people wouldn’t get there until we, the citizens, empower them. And the role of the new generation is to enlighten the ignorant masses, who should know that political representatives change color according to the demands of people, and not vice-versa.
    I know, it’s a long path. But remember that we did not get ourselves into this mess overnight. And to change the mentality of people, one needs time and persistence.

    Reply

  5. ولاّدة
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 14:05:34

    نورت الكويت

    أما اللحى فحكاية أخرى
    نحن هنا
    مشغولون في حياتنا
    منهمكون في إمضاء اليوم
    بأقل خسائر ممكنة
    لسنا سعداء بالكامل
    ولا تعساء بالكامل
    نقف على حافة الحبلين
    بانتظار أن تنصلح الأوضاع وتأخذنا
    من أيدينا لحدائق الفرح
    أو تسوء فتوفر علينا عناء الانتظار
    وترمينا في خرابة العدم

    نفكر في الهجرة
    ونتراجع خوفا
    نشعر بالغربة
    ونرفض فكرة الاغتراب

    نحن كما تركتينا
    كل ما هناك أننا أفتقدنا ان نصادفك في ندوة ، محاضرة أو تجمع
    :*

    Reply

  6. harmonie22
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 11:25:55

    Amen to the poem and to the comments.

    Reply

  7. AyyA
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 12:30:21

    Princess
    الكويت نورها من نوركم و الا بصراحه لم يبقي فيها اي شيء اخر
    :*

    Harmo
    :*

    Reply

  8. NewMe
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 22:40:14

    غربة X غربة
    هناك وهنا
    والأيام تمر
    والأمل لا يخبو
    كشعلة تقاوم ريح
    اشتقت لك
    استمتعي بيومك
    وتجاهلي المنغصات
    دمت بحب
    تحياتي

    Reply

  9. AyyA
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 13:19:19

    NewMe
    يا هلا بريحه اهل البحرين.
    المنغصات كثيره حبيبتي و لكن تبقي طيبه الاهل و الاصدقاء و الشوق اليهم و مشاركتهم همومهم
    الذي لا يعادله شيء في الوجود
    نعم وجدت في الغربه راحه نفسيه، مثلي كمثل الذي يسافر في اجازه طويله و يغلق موبايله. ليس لانه يتهرب من مشاكله و مشاكل مجتمعه و لكن لينقذ ما تبقي له من عقل قبل ان يفقده
    الحياه اصبحت صعبه جدا علي في هذا المجتمع الذكوري. سواء علي الصعيد الشخصي او العام.
    و لا اجد اي بوادر للانفراج. فاتخذت قرار بانه اذا لم يكن بالامكان تغير الشيء بعد تكرار المحاوله فلابد ان الطريق الذي سلكناه لحل مشاكلنا كان خاطيء بالاساس.
    و ما هي اذا الطريقه الصحيحه ؟
    لا اعلم

    و لكن الهجره ساعدتني في تجميع افكاري بدون ضغوط
    و اعطتني الحريه بان اهرب من نفسي الي نفسي
    اين سيقودني ذلك؟ لا ادري
    و لكنه يبقيني علي امل لا اود ان ينطفيء شمعته
    بتلاطم افكاري و عشوائيتها. و التجربه اقنعتني انني قد اتخذت القرار السليم رغم مراره تبعاته. فبشهاده الجميع انا اليوم غير الامس

    و لكن بيبقي دائما الشوق الذي يجذبني الي الحبايب
    ففي اي بنك يا تري يصرفون هذا الشوق؟
    احساس جميل، يعذبني و لكن لست متآكده اذا كنت اود ان اتخلص منه

    علي فكره
    رآيت المسج الذي بعثتيه بالشات و لكن لسوء حظي لم تكوني متواجده علي النت وقتها
    I missed you too sweetheart :*

    Reply

  10. The Expert
    Dec 26, 2007 @ 15:30:31

    AyyA,

    عورتي قلبي …. وأتمنى لكم التوفيق

    After you leave, I will become a tree
    Alone on a hillside, loving wind and sun,
    Waiting for you to return home to me
    Though centuries of lonely stars may run.
    I’ll grow tall and give lots of shade,
    Sheltering birds and other bright-eyed things.
    Pleased with all the progress that I’ve made,
    I’ll spread my leafy branches out like wings.

    But oh! Every moment of every day
    I’ll miss you with the passion of the wind,
    Gazing endlessly upon the way
    That without you must empty, empty wind.

    By Turlough O’Carolan.

    Reply

  11. AyyA
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 16:56:04

    Expert
    Thanks sweetheart, that was the best New Year, and Birthday present I got this year. :*

    Reply

  12. XTC
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 21:51:33

    Wow …what can I say …I am impressed …I don’t have much taste for poetry but I like what I read! You’re a gifted one!
    And excuse my ignorance and utter frankness …I did not go through your whole blog (although I am pretty sure it would be interesting) but I just simply don’t have enough time to go back all the way over to 2004!! Anyhow ..you talk about being an immigrant outside Kuwait ..i am sure there is a story behind that! I don’t know if you have shared it with others here …but I would like to hear it if it is public domain!

    Another comment …(I hope I am not overstaying my welcome) I mean you answer to mozart is a complicated one ..and I am not sure I do follow you! You have the seeds of Che Guevara in you ..yet a you have a Dalai Lama approach on the issues!!
    Yes ying and yang can co-exist with each other … but I really wonder can it be in real harmony??
    I mean should the one who preaches for change practice it …how can you ask the next generation to do something you are not willing to do ..why want them to change and you don’t want to push for change here …what is wrong with revolting anyway?
    Revolting against wrong ..against tyranny and against all if needed!!!
    Maybe its just me ..i live in a perfect world (which I know its not) but I like to see people practice what they preach!

    Reply

  13. AyyA
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 23:43:40

    Thanks XTC
    You are welcome anytime.
    As for your first question, I have been living in the United States for a year, both of my son’s go to school there and I have retired from my job and chose to live with them… in peace. I have had a problem that I’ve been fighting for almost 8 years with the Shareea courts, this is on a personal level (may be I will write about that one day, but now is not the time, specially when my case(s) is still hanging). On a general level, I don’t seem to understand people’s mentality anymore. Kuwait was a free society as I remember it before the eighties; the current conservativeness is alien to the country, and unfortunately, affecting the mentality of generations. Their ideology solidifies the tribal mentalities of the masses. I can’t have corruption in the country as an excuse, corruption can be found in any society even the most modern ones. But when it exists legitimately, this is the disaster. I do approve of revolution, as I also believe in social evolution. Che Guevara’s time is different than mine, and therefore my means should be different than his. You see, here in Kuwait we have a quasi-democratic system, where religious dominance of the masculine society has prevailed in the last two decades. Our education system, financial system as well as our political system have been gradually institutionalized by religious clerics. Most of the people either joined them because they couldn’t beat them, so most of the time for prestige. Or just stayed in a “No Care” situation which we call in Kuwaiti slang (macari).
    This age is the information age; it does not matter if one is physically not present in the country to participate in such a revolution. But the fight is not against corruption as much as it is in reengineering people’s mentalities, and who is better to take this responsibility but the young generation. To educate people to take larger responsibilities in their decision-making, especially when it comes to political issues. Politics is power. as for me, I will never stop fighting wherever I may be. The world is smaller than we think.

    Reply

  14. XTC
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 11:46:09

    Ayya,
    I am assuming this is your name …its what everyone else is calling you!

    You said that you are in the states with your son ..which state is that?

    And on a personal note …I wish you luck with your court cases …I know how courts can be in Kuwait …I have a court case pending for almost 8 years now …nothing yet !!! welcome to the kuwaiti judicial system!

    As for Kuwait …I am not old enough to remember Kuwait before the (I was too young then to pay real attention) 80’s but I do remember Kuwait of the 80’s and I have read about kwuait in the 70’s and the 60’s and I have seen covers of Kuwaiti magazines with Kuwaiti ladies (now mostly grandmothers) in mini-skirts …so it was the norm …and I think you are right the whole islamization trend started in the 80’s with the outburst of the Iraq-Iran war and it fed on differences between the two sects of Islam (i.e. Sunni and Shia branches of Islam) and then at the beginning of the 90’s 2/8 happened …its grouped people for a while …but after that …. well …we are living the outcome of that !!!

    Sociology studies show that after any war …the society affected by the war usually goes to one of both extremes …either moral decay or fanaticism and I think in Kuwait we managed to reach both with flying colors!!!

    I mean I agree with you that the influence of the Islamists is over whelming …clear example ..i don’t honestly remember being exposed to the Niqab in the pre-invasion period yes …”bokhnag” was always there …but Niqab …hmmm I don’t remember it wide-spread …and definitely not to the extend we see today!!! So let me get one thing straight …did we find out after 1400 years that Niqab is a must in Islam??? Does that mean 1400 years of living without niqab was wrong? Just my two-cents on the issue of niqab!

    On the political situation in Kuwait I think Kuwait needs a new Chi to uproot many things wrong in our society ..ok I agree with you its different times and calls for different means …but still we need someone charismatic and brave enough to actually call for change!
    I think the society is ready and ripe for change …a change which is long overdue!!!
    Never stop fighting amen …but words are not quite enough some times! If you want to talk the talk ..you must be able to walk the walk!!!

    Reply

  15. XTC
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 21:41:33

    i came across this today … and i think it goes along the same lines we are talking about!!!

    http://www.annaharkw.com/annahar/Article.aspx?id=42023

    Reply

  16. AyyA
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 23:02:45

    Thanks XTC, very nice article indeed; it’s also partly related to my newest post. (check my comment to you on that).

    I live in Silicon Valley, California. As for Kuwaiti courts; I’m really over-charged, so don’t get me started, I won’t stop.

    “On the political situation in Kuwait I think Kuwait needs a new Chi to uproot many things wrong in our society “
    On this I agree, we need Chis and not only one Chi. I have lost faith in most of the known faces; we need new blood. And that blood is the new generation, the educated, outspoken, courageous generation. But as for me, I’d rather stay the unsung heroine, as a dear friend once dubbed me.

    Reply

  17. Fatma
    Jan 13, 2008 @ 10:37:34

    well guys! you both said some pretty great things! and I agree with both of you, we do need change but I was disappointed in both of you!
    Ayya and XTC, you both recognize the need for change but you are not willing to do anything about it!
    Ayya you want to stay an unsung heroin, XTC you want change but ask for someoen else to do it!
    7aram 3aleekom! if people like you are not willing to do anything then please don’t speak up! voices are not enough, actions are required!
    do you think Guevara did things on his own? was he the ONLY one taking the actions? yes he was a leader but there were other people that acted with him!
    and NO our country is not ready for change! people are happy being the corrupt little nich in the world they created. they are happy being tribists, theives and idiots ( one look at the so called democratic parliament we have is enough)
    Ayya the courageous, educated and outspeken generatio you are talking about get stepped on 100 times per day every day! no one wants to hear that there is something wrong and this generation is to be honest , makil tibin ( no disrespect intended)
    I know a lot of Kuwaiti professionals who had left the country already, and given more time , I don’t think I will be any different than them.
    which country spends millions on educating people to miss treat them at the end and force them to leave?
    this doesn’t look like a country ready for change, not even in 20 years.

    sorry guys but this is my twopence worth of opinion if anyone wants to hear it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

