Lamenting God

They said
You were dead

How dare You not
Inform me
How dare You not
Answer my letters
My cries
My endless devotion
My humble humiliation

How dare You
Betray me

Those nights I spent washing Your feet with tears
Those nights I begged forgiveness at Your door

For the sins
I never committed
For the oath
I never broke
For the heart
I willingly slaughtered
And presented
To You

How many times You ignored
My slavery at Your service
How dare You be
So petty

They said
You were dead
Yet no one attended
Your funeral

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. harmonie22
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 00:18:02

    Ayya, can I say that I adore you?
    Your poetry is simultaneously profound and funny.

    “God is dead.”
    Friedrich Nietzsche

    Reply

  2. nQ
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 02:24:30

    amen

    Reply

  3. صلعم
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 10:22:39

    Very nice Ayya. I noticed u said you moved to world press in Ben’s blog. Very happy I found your blog, which I will be reading from here.
    I really like your poetry especially this poem. I think you did not com to terms with your selected path yet, which shows from your poem.

    Cheers!

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Sep 29, 2007 @ 12:10:56

    Harmo
    That was so sweet, it always makes me happy to see your comment. :*

    nQ
    Amen

    Sal3am
    The path is very thorny, and mine was a very long one. I am an honest person with principles. I do not like being fooled; the sadness you see in my poems is because of my own naivety all those years when I was blind to the truth that was right there before me. And in no way my search ended, nor I would ever stop making others see how grave is betrayal.
    Glad to see you here, welcome dear anytime. I thought you already left the lands of sands in the month of hypocrisy. Anyway, have a safe trip and enjoy it to the max. Every second of our lives is precious; life is beautiful, let’s not waste it.
    Take good care and come back with more inspirational posts 🙂

    Reply

  5. EXzombie
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 00:48:37

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 03:33:37

    LOOOOL
    That was really funny Exzomb
    إنت فلته
    🙂

    Reply

  7. Fons Moonen .
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 12:50:34

    it’s lonely without God . . .

    Reply

  8. AyyA
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 11:04:15

    Fons
    How do you know if it is lonely without God? Do you know how it is with God?

    Reply

  9. Fons Moonen .
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 21:13:27

    Sure, I was raised with a notion of God. Around my thirteenth year start to think independently and thus the god of my youth deserted. Always talk with him before I fall in sleep , than I thought it is me, my second voice. It is lonely without God. But . . . no better happiness than the TRUTH !

    Reply

  10. Fons Moonen .
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:29:43

    It’s a cry out for Contact, believe Me. Feel better now. Not so lonely 🙂 In your writing I read my own lonesomeness, a remarkable consolation given the distance.

    Reply

  11. KarlQ8
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 16:37:34

    Strong words ..
    Broken Spirits ..

    because
    he’s still alive
    🌺

    Reply

  12. AyyA
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 06:46:58

    He is still alive…only as a concept

    Reply

Leave a Reply

