Ends Never Meet!

Did you ever have to fulfill someone else’s promises, when they thrash this responsibility at you because they couldn’t keep it themselves? Well; this always happens to me when I have to deal with issues concerning my children with their dad.

I am a type of person that can’t do without organization in my life; up to the tiniest bit. I have to know where I’m going beforehand, or else any slight disturbance or unwelcome surprise to the original plan might cause me to lose rational thinking ability. And could end up in disturbing situations.

I hardly make any promises I could not keep. And when I make one; I strive to fulfill it. And my promise to my sons when I last left them here in the States was “give me few months to sort things out in Kuwait and I will definitely come back here to live with you”.

And that’s what I exactly did; I planned a flexible working schedule for the period I intended to stay in Kuwait, took care of the leftover issues; including moving out of my apartment into my dad’s place, and all whathaveyou of packing and liaisons involved. The most important issue was setting a target date to be back, and doing it on my own, at my ease, so I would get to enjoy my last days with friends and family in the process, and have a relaxing flight back to the Sates.

And I think things changed to my favor when my errands ended a month before expected, which meant that I would get to see the boys one month earlier. Everything went better than the schedule; every thing is taken care of and on top I had two days to relax with family in Kuwait till departure time, or; that’s what I thought!!!

A day before I left Kuwait, I had a call from my ex complaining that he could not find a hard box for my son’s electronic guitar (he only went looking for one on that day, although his son had asked him to do so a month back), and that I would have to manage since HE promised his son to send it with me, knowing beforehand that I would not refuse to do so when it comes to my children, even if that meant getting myself into trouble.
To make the long story short; I ended up at the airport with my computer bag and a relatively heavy electrical guitar in a soft leather case with very uncivilized shoulder straps (ask my upper shoulders about them).

And to make the situation even worse; at the BA counter; I learned that I only can carry one bag beside the musical instrument. And since I couldn’t sacrifice my laptop, I distributed the contents of my personal handbag (purse) between my pockets (thanks God I had many of those pockets on my baggy trousers with secure straps), I also used the small compartment attached to the case of the guitar to slip in my digital camera, and the rest of the stuff I pushed in areas around my laptop which was already stuffed with necessities of the one-night stay in London (BA regulations required that I carry no more than one bag and that I had an exception for one piece of musical instrument).

And I have to admit that here I lost patience, as well as mental balance!!!
First; because every piece I had to take out of my personal handbag was organized for easy access during my long flight. And rearranging them in the last moment disturbs my mental ability to concentrate; a burden that I did not need when I’m traveling long distances alone, with stuffed, unorganized baggage. And, second; the responsibility to get the precious thing across the boarder in one piece. And that by itself was the biggest burden…. The guitar had to reach my son’s hands in one piece; I did not need any last minute surprises.

It was no problem in Kuwait airport since trolleys are provided, and one can use them up to the boarding point. Then I only had to carry it on my shoulders for a short walk leading to the plane door, and ask the first stewardess to take care of it in its right place of the first class compartments while I was seated in the back seats of economy.

No problem at Heathrow either; both the laptop and the guitar mounted the trolley and the almost half a mile walk in the tube leading to Hilton Heathrow was a blessing after sitting for almost six hours. And now that the guitar and the laptop are in a safe place; it’s time to go out and have some fun since I had almost half a day to spend considering the two hours I gained with time change in England.

I took out my roaming and dialed a UK number. This number was given to me only tow days prior to my departure to London by a childhood school friend, whom I hardly ran into, as each of us led a very diverse separate life as we grew older. And I happen to run into her particularly one day before her travel to London!!
So you can imagine how disappointed I got when I couldn’t get hold of her line. The other bad news I had from the front desk advising not to go to central London on that day, since it coincided with Bank holiday and the transportation on holidays could get tiresome, when most places are closed. So going downtown London did not seem like a good idea. I spent the rest of the day between writing long awaited replies to e-mails, having a light meal and retiring early with my book.

My flight the next day was at 10:50 AM local time. I called the concierge asking for the direction to get to terminal one, since the tube that led me to this hotel was at terminal four and I wanted to make my provision to reach terminal one on proper time. And he figured it as follows; if I have a wake up call at 7:30AM, fast-check out at 8AM, walk the tube back to terminal four and catch the express to terminal one will all take 20 minutes, where I could be at the terminal on the two hours required time for check-in before my flight time.

So, I set the automatic wake-up call of the hotel phone on 7:30AM, and for more reassurance; I set my mobile alarm on 7:00AM. Not to say that I have slept that night, I have a bad habit of attachment to my bed that for the first nights away; I could hardly go to sleep. So, I waited for the mobile alarm to go off between my tossing and turning all night. And when it did; I was already in the bathroom brushing my teeth. And checked out even before the hotel alarm had a chance to go off.

The English morning air was refreshing; I took my time strolling while pushing slowly the trolley ahead of me with the laptop giving support to the precious guitar. And about half the way to terminal four; it suddenly downed on me; I have forgotten my wallet, passport and some other valuables in the safe, up in the room.

Without thinking, I strapped the guitar around my shoulders, tightened the straps of the laptop around the trolley edge, and raced the wind back to the hotel pushing the trolley ahead as if driving a car on a speed track. Thanks God there was no traffic. The concierge took me back to the room, and I retrieved my valuables and fled back to terminal four, this time with the luggage on the trolley, so it wasn’t bad except for the fact that I could not waste any time and lose the express connection on time. And as the express approached the station, it suddenly struck me that the alarm on my mobile was set to Kuwait time, and that I still had two hours to spare. So you could imagine the big smile that broke into my face as I envisioned duty-free shopping.

Of all the countries of the world, nothing is more tempting to me than duty-free shopping in London. May be because I already have in mind what I want and know where to get it. I don’t know. But the bad news was that I could not carry my trolley beyond the check-in point of terminal one, and there were no trolleys at the other side. Which also meant that; I either collapse on a nearby seat guarding my valuables and ogling at the big screen to announce my gate, or carry the guitar on my shoulders; bearing the grooves formed on my skin by the nasty uncomfortable shoulder straps, and wheeling the laptop along, for the sake of spending some time in shopping. Off course I chose the latter, and had to pay for it later.

The shopping was successful; I came out with five sets of new age CD’s, one documentary (aninconvennienttruth) about global warming, that I have not watched yet. I also got a couple of PIMM’S for gifts, of which I had the landlady in mind. Which also meant; more things to carry, but I took my mobile and wallet and other small stuff I stuffed my trouser pockets with, and placed them in my shopping bags.

It was a bit of a relief really, because the stuff was dragging my pants down with their weight to gravity; I did not mind my back tattoo peeking once and a while, but just to imagine that, in my haste, I might find my whole lower parts on the ground sent shivers up my spine, and I had to slow down each few steps to pull my pants up. I must’ve looked a freak to the onlookers, ready to take a corner and start to play the guitar, especially with those IPod ear bits playing in my ears while I’m checking CD’s. Almost everyone I conversed with while shopping asked me to play the guitar. And I kept swearing that I’m just a carrier with good ears, but no musical talents beyond that gift; none whatsoever.

The flight to SFC international airport was extremely comfortable. As usual; the guitar was tucked safely in the first class compartment, and I had four seats at the back of the economy all at my service for the rest of the flight. And it was a good treat for my tiered shoulders while lying down across four seats.

All was well till I got to the shuttle that was supposed to take me to the apartment in Mountain View. And as the driver approached the guitar I was guarding with my life, I asked him to take his hands off, demanding that it should stay with me or by the driver in the front seat. The driver gave in after some hesitation and a promise to be generous with him for his favor. And I thanked my stars for there were no other passengers but another sweet old lady. Boy; how was I wrong!!!

Our station was the first station to be loaded with passengers, there were at least five other stops that the shuttle made around the airport and more passengers were loaded aboard. But that was no problem really, it should have been expected, but what was not expected is the stinky smell of the driver. He smelled like a coolie, who has not had a shower in ages. And to be in a small, closed and crowded area with such a smell could really get you where the famous CA weed won’t dare. And to my disadvantage; I had to be taken to my place after the shuttle was completely emptied except for the last passenger who looked Chinese.

I was so thrilled to have finally arrived, took my luggage up, handed the landlady her gift, and as my youngest hug me, my glance went to the eldest (the owner of the guitar) with a dragged face; I have forgotten the guitar at the front seat of the shuttle, and that was no less than 20 minutes back, the shuttle had already left. And my digital camera was gone with it. Here I started becoming hyper while my son reassuring me that everything will be OK and I just had to relax. But how could I relax!!!! I have developed a special bond to that guitar.

Don’t worry folks; I got my stuff after a big hassle, and more payment. And the first thing my son asked me when he got his guitar was ” where is the Pedals? Please don’t tell me dad forgot it!!”

Now the million-dollar question goes to the judge who asked me to find a way to compromise with the father of my children; does he really think that we could ever have a chance to understand each other’s language?

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose
    May 06, 2007 @ 19:52:02

    So, u believe in God now ?

    Reply

  2. shosho
    May 06, 2007 @ 20:29:50

    Ba3ad 3umree Ayya :*****

    El7emdillah 3ala el salama! I have a peice of advice though, don’t ever tell anyone of your travel dates, make your departures and arrivals sudden so that no one would burden you with last minute favors 😉

    Reply

  3. NewMe
    May 06, 2007 @ 21:32:27

    سعيدة لوصولك سالمة
    وأشكر السماء أنك إنتقلت إلى هناك
    من قلبي أتمنى لك كل التوفيق
    يقال أن الأضداد تتجاذب
    وجهة نظري أنها كذلك نعم ولكن لتتضارب
    التضحية شيء مطلوب
    ولكن بعقل
    وإلا فقدناه
    دومي بحب
    تحياتي

    Reply

  4. intlxpatr
    May 07, 2007 @ 08:33:16

    I am happy to hear you have arrived safely, and all the planning of the last few months has paid off. I am also a planner, and I feel the same frustration when someone burdens me at the last minute because he failed to plan, or failed to do the homework involved with keeping his promise.

    You are a wonderful Mom; you carried that guitar for your son.

    Long term, believe me, your sons will know which parent keeps promises, and which makes what Mary Poppins calls “piecrust promises – easily made, easily broken.”

    and now – let it go. enjoy this wonderful time with your sons.

    Reply

  5. راعيها
    May 07, 2007 @ 15:12:12

    لو كنت مكانج .. كنت راح أحتفظ بشنطة الجيتار لنفسي و شريت جيتار ثاني لولدي

    Reply

  6. Hasan.B
    May 07, 2007 @ 16:31:20

    I just finished reading your post, which is absolutely great i must admit! I have 2 exams next week and im not studying at all, and your story just made me realise how lazy iam!! So back to stduying, but first I want to go call my mum:)!! really excellent post! o il7mdela 3l salama!

    Reply

  7. boosale7
    May 07, 2007 @ 22:01:38

    الحمدلله على السلامة
    بيس ما قلتيلي شنو بتشتغلين هناك وشلون بتعيشين ؟

    قلبي معاج

    Reply

  8. ValenciaLover
    May 08, 2007 @ 00:49:10

    الحمد لله على السلامة

    تذكرتك اليوم
    7/5/2007
    موعد البت في القضية صح؟
    طمنينا

    Enjoy your stay with the boys.
    Hey, you are a perfect mom.

    Reply

  9. soud13
    May 08, 2007 @ 11:22:14

    أنا تعلمت هالدرس من زمان , لما ايي أسافر ما أقول لأحد

    في أحد المرات واحد من الربع دز وياى كيس رز الوزان ههههه

    من بعدها ما صرت أقول لأحد أنى مسافر 🙂

    Reply

  10. AyyA
    May 08, 2007 @ 13:41:29

    Rose:
    Does that make you happy!!

    Shosho
    I’ll sure keep your advice as an earring in my ear (direct translation :p).. for next time

    NM
    Thanks for your well wishes dear; I guess friends have no geographical boundaries; wherever you are you can always make them. And I intend to do so here.

    Intl
    It’s not the issue of being a good mom; it’s the principle of keeping one true to his word. I would even do that for a friend. A promise is a promise; don’t make one if you know beforehand that you can’t keep it. And ever since I came here I’ve been eating like crazy, that shows you how relieved I am for being back here. I have to watch it though; the food always tastes better when I’m around the boys 😀

    Ra3eeha
    This guitar is very expensive; and unfortunately I can’t afford one 😦

    Hasan
    Glad to have been an incentive for you dear, say hello to mom 🙂

    Bosale7
    I have my pension money. So I can manage, don’t worry. Besides; there are lots of publishing houses next door to where I live, and I think I should start taking publishing my book more seriously now that I’m here.

    VL
    Thanks sweetheart for remembering; the judge ordered investigation “ta7qeeq”, now whatever that means; the lawyer said that it’s good, may be a final formality before the verdict. Anyway; I have gotten used to delays, and this is another, so we’ll see what happens next.

    Soud
    I should have consulted you before traveling :p

    Reply

  11. ولاّدة
    May 08, 2007 @ 14:25:10

    ألف الحمدلله على السلامة
    ولهم من ابناء محظوظون لأن لهم أم رائعة مثلك صديقتي

    فيا عينَ طفل تنام الدّجى
    ويا عين والدة تسهرُ
    سَلِ النجم عن سهر الأُمهات
    فإن النّجوم به أخبرُ

    جواب السؤال: يكفي انعدام الرغبة في محاولة إيجاد لغة مشتركة
    وبالمناسبة لغتك بالنسبة لي سمفونية حكمة ووئام

    Reply

  12. ولاّدة
    May 08, 2007 @ 14:25:48

    خطأ مطبعي
    يا لهم

    Reply

  13. kila_ma6goog
    May 08, 2007 @ 14:43:58

    حمدالله عالسلامة

    و ادري بتزعلين مني بس صراحة الأكس ماله شغل بكل هالمصاعب اللي واجهتج, الرحلة طويلة و تعيسة و قوانين الطيران و المطارات اتعس غير كرسي الطيارة و ملاقة اللي قاعدين يمج و زيدي فوقهم المطبات الهوائية اللي تخرع

    يعني كل هالأشياء تلعب دور في التشنج اللي يحوشنا كلنا في اوقات السفر

    مسكين الريال نسى يشتري حق الولد جنطة قيتار ما فيها شي, و بعدين الحين انتي رايحة امريكا بلد القيتارات و تشترين قيتار او جنطته من الكويت؟

    جان طلبتيه من الانترنت و يوصل بعد يومين حق المحروس

    على فكرة , انا ما اعرف الأكس و لا ادافع عنه بس احس صج فقير ماله ذنب

    Reply

  14. Hanan
    May 08, 2007 @ 15:50:03

    Jet-lagged still?
    I’m sure the boys were thrilled to see you, with or without the pedal 🙂

    Not to sound sexist, but the judge is a man. What would you expect?

    Reply

  15. jewaira
    May 08, 2007 @ 23:42:15

    Glad that you finally arrived safely after that ordeal! Hope the boys are doing well and happy with their supermom 🙂

    Reply

  16. شرقاوي
    May 09, 2007 @ 00:22:18

    I don’t want to sound nosey, but are you familiar with the series of books publishe by The Ridhwan Foundation?

    Reply

  17. شرقاوي
    May 09, 2007 @ 01:44:13

    published

    Reply

  18. Alia
    May 09, 2007 @ 10:20:36

    Waw Ayya .. it’s a one hell of a trip

    & don’t listen to ma6goog .. blame whoever you want to blame? SUPERMOM (as Jewaira said) is your nickname from now on

    Reply

  19. kila_ma6goog
    May 09, 2007 @ 13:58:30

    علياء الجميلة

    أنا لم أشكك في أمومتها الخارقة و المثيرة للاعجاب, و أتفهم طبيعة الأنثى في حب التعبير و المشاركة عن مشاكل حياتها و المصاعب اللي تواجهها

    لكن واجبي الجنسي – من جنس الذكر و ليس الجنس – يحتم علي أن لا أقبل ان يكون الرجل ضحية تعاسة المطارات و البرتش ايرويز و كل مصايب الدنيا

    هم حنا لنا فزعتنا

    🙂

    Reply

  20. AyyA
    May 09, 2007 @ 15:42:21

    Princess
    Thanks dearest, my angle in white 🙂
    And you are right; when we want to understand, may be we won’t even need a language to communicate. But the problem is when we don’t want to understand.

    KM
    Now I know why you chose that name :p
    But you have a point there about airports. But the guitar issue was not that easy. It had to be that specific guitar; long story. The poor guy you are defending could have sent it with the pedals in Cargo with the hard box when he finds one, without bothering me with the burden. Anyway; I’m around the boys now and happy, and that was in the past.

    Hanoona
    Jetlagged and sick. I feel drained after three months of action. All I want now is to relax. I’ll e-mail you soon :*

    Lady J
    Ya hala wi ya mar7aba…missed you girl, but supermom? Nah.. too large for me, just an ordinary, I mean when it comes to momhood. 🙂

    Shargawi
    Yes I am. What about them?

    Alia
    LOL, girl, walla sorry you couldn’t make it the other day, the strawberries with dark chocolate were superorgasmic, ask Sharooqa about them… :p

    Reply

  21. شرقاوي
    May 10, 2007 @ 18:03:35

    I was going to suggest that you may want to consider publishing your work with them.

    Reply

  22. kila_ma6goog
    May 10, 2007 @ 23:46:35

    ترى اللعانة طبع منتشر عند الرياييل و انا واحد منهم , أحيانا يكون مزاجي متعكر ما يضبطه الا جولة لعانة مع اللي حواليني يالله يالله يتعدل المزاج

    صج والله أحيانا ما يتعدل المزاج الا لمن أشوف غيري متخصبق

    ليش؟

    هل انا شرير؟

    Reply

  23. AyyA
    May 11, 2007 @ 16:30:34

    Sharqawi
    Ah, thanks. I might consider that in the future, first I want to enquire about the nearby editing and publishing houses. And see how it works here.

    KM
    حالتك عويصه، يبيلك فوزيه الدريع
    و الا اقول لك: حلاتك جذي
    :p

    Reply

  24. shurouqm
    May 11, 2007 @ 17:57:56

    Garrat 3ainich :*

    Make the most of your stay there and keep us posted.

    Reply

  25. kila_ma6goog
    May 11, 2007 @ 18:22:34

    مرة كنت بالمطار انا و المدام, عاد شفنا د فوزية باللاونج , و لأن طبيعتي تفرض علي اللقافة و احب اسلم عالمشاهير قلت حق زوجتي قومي نسلم عليها

    و فعلا قمت و رحت سلمت عليها و قتلها برنامجك خدمة للمجتمع و حل مشاكل و بلا بلا بلا

    و مع السوالف ييت أستخف دمي جان اطب بالنهام و سوالف تفسير الأحلام

    جان تقولي اي هذا يفسر على طريقة ابن سيرين و هذه طريقة قديمة انا أفسر على طريقة علمية و مادري شنو

    طبعا انا انقص ويهي

    Reply

  26. q8links
    May 13, 2007 @ 13:04:23

    في جزئية الوفاء بالوعد

    سلوكك يعلم الناس شيئا هم في حاجة إليه

    Reply

  27. AyyA
    May 13, 2007 @ 18:12:18

    Sharouqa
    ويه نبيج
    :**

    Ever since I came here, I feel drained and out of energy. Sometimes when we have lots to do in our minds we never stop to think what harm we are doing to our bodies. Until the time when we relax and then find out that we can hardly move… btw; BENGAY dose miracles 😉
    The past three months of active life must’ve taken their toll on me that for a week I’m jetlagged and weak. It was only the day before yesterday when I got back on my feet, and right away; the boys and I went to the nearest bicycle vender and got us three nice bikes on sale. The weather is heavenly here; and errands could be a blessing when done on a bike. My eldest had only one class that day, so he decided to ride the bike to college, how about that? I think it was a wise decision the boys drove me into.
    By the end of this week, I’m invited to Stanford University museum by my youngest, and by the end of the month; I’m invited to the foothill concert on behalf of my eldest.
    How about that to start my stay here?

    LOL KM, I can imagine your face changing color hehehee.
    بس قلعتك ليش تتليقف في اللي مالكش فيه
    :p

    Q8links
    I know for sure that my ex is the most who needs to learn this lesson
    😉

    Reply

  28. q80demon
    May 18, 2007 @ 23:16:56

    First of all I’m truly sorry for my belated comment – I’ve been really busy with the morons (*cough* … students) I happen be burdened with … only a few more days until my salvation from their idiocy.

    Sorry to hear about your set of problmes. Airports, travel – the drivers BO: I can understand. The detachment of your ex … now that sort of behavior has to burn ones blood. Personally, while I plan things meticulously taking into account all possibilities of things going wrong (and they WILL definitely go wrong – Murphy was an optimist), I don’t appreciate the lack of concern from others who are involved. The combined outcomes of our lives experiences is a mixture of negatives and positives, which means that one has to overachieve in order to counter all the negatives spewed by others.

    I do appreciate your sons attachment to his musical instrument, in fact any attachment to any instrument / tool / … must be appreciated. I cant stnd someone – no matter how close – behaving frivolously with an item that means a great deal to me. And musical instruments are not created equal, if one grew up with a beloved instrument, no other instrument will do – maybe a Stradivarius! :-/

    But, I’m delighted to hear that all’s well that ends well ;-D Now that you are with your sons and a whole new world of possibilities is in front of you. Are you really complaining about those mishaps now?

    Reply

  29. AyyA
    May 20, 2007 @ 23:43:05

    No problem bro, it’s good to keep busy. At times when I stay away from the Net for a while doing other things, I give myself a mental pat that I’m doing a good thing. Hehehehe
    Anyway; I missed you and your sweet comments, and may be I’m a whacko; but at least I know that you understand my language :p.
    My son thanks you also; he read your comment regarding the personal instrument. And he has that attachments to his personal things.
    And about complaining: well, so far I have all my basic needs taken care of, and more than that I can visit Nawafco and Arabs in Space without having to go through proxies. So why should I complain :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

