All is Good, All is Fine

I’m finally back, still tiered and jet-lagged. Lufthansa’s small seats and full flights had done a good job in keeping me alert in a middle seat for almost 17 flight hours.
But I had promised myself that I would not complain when I get back home, and so I won’t.

The difference between the last time I lived in the States and now is enormous, the change is drastic towards a more civilized, free, secular, modern society. While comparing Kuwait at the time I first left to live in the States and now, is like comparing Paris to Afghanistan.
But I had promised myself that I would not complain when I get back home, and so I won’t.

Kuwait greeted me with dust at the very first hello, and when I reached home, the electricity was gone. Three stories up I had to take, on foot and suitcases in hand, in the pitch of the dark with only mobile lights to lead the way. But thanks to the loads of candles I carry around in the apartment, the place was turned into a monk’s temple in no time, laden with incense. It compensated for the hot bath I needed so bad. The electricity came back the next day at 10:30AM, after calling and begging the damn ministry.
But I had promised myself that I would not complain when I get back home, and so I won’t.

And now that I’m trying to get my breath back, I look through the Net to get some sites I bookmarked while I was in the States, some scientific ones, and was surprised to see them blocked under Islamic banners, while they have nothing to do with Islam, well not directly I presume!!!! Then I heard this news. Can any one see how important this issue is, especially to us bloggers? The ones who live by the written words on the Net? I don’t want to go through liberalism and freedom of speech or what have you of the words we utter all the time, yet we don’t know what they really mean. Let me ask you a question, what would be your feeling if your blog vanished all of a sudden because you said something that did not please someone else? This is exactly what is happening now in Kuwait.
But I had promised myself that I would not complain when I get back home, and so I won’t.

Kolshi mako

An update for my non-Arabic readers :

The Ministry of Communication provides the Internet service in Kuwait. The two main routers of this service to the customer are owned mainly to a single, most influential family in Kuwait. Those companies filter the stream of information on the Net in order to control the type of information allowed to be accessed by the residents of Kuwait. Those companies though, do not have the right to decide what information should be passed and what should be blocked, this is the job of the ministry of Communication, and they have to get a written permission to be able to ban any site (theoretically speaking)
But what is happening today is different. Both companies are taking the liability to block whatever site they don’t feel comfortable with. And the evidence is my own blog that disappeared last summer, in a bit over 12 hours of posting, when I wrote an Article about MP Marzooq Alghanim (from the family that ownes both companies) who was running for the parliament at the time. They did not unblock my blog till about 14 hours latter when a lot of bloggers copy-pasted my article and some translated it to Arabic, and was in no time like a cancer that had spread all over the Net, even in e-mails.
Now pay attention that I posted that Article just before going to bed, woke up around ten thirty AM, opened the Net, and my blog was gone. Now when did those people have time to get the permission from the Ministry of Communication to block my blog? (Realistically speaking)
Those companies did the same with a Kuwaiti forum that is directed by a group of liberalist, and upon blocking the forum for the second time, it got attacked by an Islamist hacker who is freely roaming other sites and forums and bragging about his accomplishment. He is believed to be a Saudi belonging to a network of hackers, in other words; gangsters. But is this a coincidence? I mean blocking by the company and hacking by the gangsters? Or are there other issues cooking under the surface? There are a lot of speculations, but I would not go through that because they are only speculations.
And after this forum, another one got hacked, then another…. It seems that Islamists are used in some very ugly political game. But as I said before it’s only speculation. But I don’t think a company that blocks any site without a written permission from the Ministry of Communication should go without questioning or may be taken to court.
This is a link to both articles I posted in case you are interested.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mosan
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 14:33:30

    1st welcome back to lovely Q8

    take it easy and all will be ok

    cheers

    Reply

  2. ummel3yal
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 15:22:23

    Thank God you’re back with a better moood and not complaining at all 😉

    Welcome back hon. You’ve been greatly missed. I’m sure you enjoyed a warm welcome from your dogs 🙂 Kuwait not so bad after all!

    I promise myself that I won’t complain anymore and that if I don’t have anything positive to say I better shut up. But I can’t, just as you 🙂

    I guess we care more than we like to admit!

    Reply

  3. shosho
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 21:31:23

    Welcome back 3asoola :*

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 22:52:05

    Mosano babe
    With you around my dearest friend, I can’t complain

    Ummel3yal
    I missed you too sweetie, and you touched a sensitive nerve that I did not have the heart to talk about. One of the dogs left the house and has been missing more than 6 weeks. We think it’s stolen because it’s very smart and knows where is its house no matter how far it goes.
    But with Katkoot; my cat following me everywhere I go since I came back, I can’t complain 😀
    By the way; I will e-mail you soon

    Shoshoah?
    Inti imnain 6al3ah? I missed you girl :*

    Reply

  5. The Expert
    Feb 12, 2007 @ 13:54:40

    First of all welcome back to the killing and complicated routine….!
    Secondly.. no enhancement without complain;
    But, be cool and just thing about the nice time spent there….

    Reply

  6. esha3wa
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 05:05:25

    welcome back

    Reply

  7. iDip
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 17:38:27

    welcome back 🙂

    it takes time, everytime, to adjust

    Reply

  8. Sever
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 17:59:18

    So now you are in Kuwait.

    Revelatory articles on their way I guess 😉

    I don’t know, but here, in Russia, it’s still ok with blogs & livejournals.
    But I heard a lot of this problem in Qatar, Saudia Arabia, Kuwait, etc.

    By the way, dear AyyA, last time you gave me the link the text of which was written in Arabic.
    Little problem. I don’t know Arabic, unfortunately. But promise you, next 3 years I will study it hard 😉

    Reply

  9. bosale7
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 20:32:58

    عجبتني سالفة الوعد بعدم الشكوى 🙂

    اولا نورت البلاد وفرحت العباد بوصول النور الوقاد

    ثانيا لا تشيلين هم الكهرباء …انتي ما سمعت الصبوحة شنو قالت ؟

    مرحبا يا حبايب ..يا حبايب مرحبا …نورتونا يا حبايب ..طفو نور الكهربا 🙂

    يمكن الحكومة اخذت اغنية الصبوحة وسوتها منهاج عمل لاستقبال جنابكم الكريم ؟ 🙂

    تحياتي

    Reply

  10. AyyA
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 01:29:52

    The Expert
    Ah, I almost can see those nice days 😀

    Eshda3wa
    Thanks sweetie

    iDip
    It takes time for some of us to adjust, but I quests I don’t belong to that some 😦

    Sever
    “Revelatory articles on their way I guess”
    Wana bet? 😉
    And sorry about the Arabic link dear, yalla, more incentive for you to learn Arabic. My sister had a Russian friend who lived in Kuwait for a while and his Arabic was better than mine 😀

    Bosale7
    LOL, walla 6eentic khafeefa, heheheee

    Reply

  11. Intlxpatr
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 18:44:58

    “what would be your feeling if your blog vanished all of a sudden because you said something that did not please someone else? This is exactly what is happening now in Kuwait.”

    Ayya, blogs are disappearing?

    Reply

  12. AyyA
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 10:47:41

    Sorry dearest, I keep forgetting that I have non-Arabic readers 😦
    Wi 3ashan 3yoonich (literal translation: for your eyes), I will post an update soon to give you a briefing 🙂

    Reply

  13. cixousianpanic
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 19:25:17

    ;(

    they can’t do that!! or rather, shouldn’t be able to do that!

    ;/ very disappointed in the lack of freedom of speech.

    Reply

  14. غريب
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 19:48:05

    نورت الكويت برجعتك

    Reply

Leave a Reply

