A Skeptic’s Ten Liberties

In my last post Killa Ma6goog raised few questions about atheism. His main concern was:
What is atheism? And what are its advantages? And what positive changes it has on an atheist’s life in comparison to his/her previous state as a believer, if any? And how can atheism develop one’s personality, humanitarian outlook as well as ambitions?

Now to answer those questions, one has to admit first that he/she is an atheist, but it’s not always easy to categorize oneself within such a boundary, considering the fact that there is hardly anyone who can say that he/she is 100% atheist. And also the fact that atheism does not necessarily mean a disbelief in religion, for some forms of Buddhism, for instance, do not believe in God, yet, they display a strong belief in religious rituals.

So what is atheism?
From Answers.com, atheism is

1. Disbelief in or denial of the existence of God or gods.
2. The doctrine that there is no God or gods.

And according to the above definition, there is always a great misconception between disbelief and atheism. When someone disbeliefs in religion he could be either an Atheist, or an Agnostic(1), or a Akeptic(2). And to be fair enough to the inquiries made by Killa Ma6goog; I will only address the above through the eyes of a Skeptic, and will leave others to comment on their own ideology, since each person’s experience, belief and motives are different from the other.

And why skeptical?
Mainly because, there is absolutely no doubt in my mind that religions are all man-made, and the man-made God is also hogwash. But that does not mean that I exclude the chance that there is a probability of intelligent design to this universe, be it a tiny one, and until science can prove otherwise, I will remain to be skeptical. Still, that creator has nothing to do with the Gods of religions.

And before going further into the main issue, I think it’s worthy to mention that secularism does not belong to any of the above mentioned categories since it’s not a set of beliefs, nor an ethnic party. Rather; an ideology that meant to create a medium through which diverse schools of thought and different ethnic groups can live and tolerate each other, without one assuming dominance over the other; be it a belief of the faithful religious individual or a disbeliever. But unfortunately, this term has always been misinterpreted and confused with atheism (most of the times purposefully by religious parties and radical individuals, since its concept opposes to that of their totalitarian doctrine).

To understand secularism better, this is the definition of secularism according to Wikipedia:

1. Secularism, in the more moderate sense, asserts the freedom of religion, and freedom from religion, within a state that is neutral on matters of belief, and gives no state privileges or subsidies to religions. (See also Separation of church and state; see also Laïcité.)
2. Secularism, in the more extreme sense, refers to a belief that human activities and decisions, especially political ones, should be based on what it considers to be evidence and fact, not on beliefs that secularists consider superstitious. Secularists hold that public policy should be free from religious influence. For example, a society deciding whether to promote condom use might consider the issues of disease prevention, family planning, and a belief in women’s rights. A secularist would argue that such issues are relevant to public policy-making, whereas Biblical interpretation or church doctrine are irrelevant. Secularists believe that all activities falling outside of the private sphere should be secular, i.e. not religious.

Now, it was necessary for me to mention the different definitions above so that there will be no confusion when we debate these matters. And having taken that off of my shoulders; let me begin with my personal journey.

As any individual on this side of the world, naturally, I was brought up in an Islamic culture, and was educated within Islamic boundaries. And my beginnings, also naturally, were that of a believer (I could say a strong one at that). So I may go back and forth between the old system of beliefs (I was brought up in) and my changing paradigm for the purpose of clarifying a point or two.

And to do that, let’s start by defining the mechanism of a belief system and why man considers it mandatory in human life?

KM once mentioned that religion to the believer is a guide, more like instruction manual (where one can readily pick the right actions needed for every situation he encounters in life, in order to ensure conformity in the society during his lifetime, as well as to provide for afterlife.)(3)

And here I will not go through the rigid instructions of the religious manual used to conduct our daily lives, since it became apparent to me through experience that the man-made laws which were based on years of experience, knowledge, science and alteration for the better, has far exceeded the rigid, outdated dogmas of religion. i.e. I prefer using civil laws that grant human rights than using shareea.(4)

But how about those instructions that deal with the conducts needed to ensure a safe afterlife?

Afterlife is one of the biggest mysteries to humans. All religions known to man believe in afterlife, although the perception of afterlife changes from one faith to another. And since religions are based on myths (not a shred of doubt in my mind about that), I do not accept any version of afterlife as portrayed in religion.

But what does science say about afterlife?
Actually scientists are divided when it comes to afterlife; long before research in Quantum Physics, scientists were treating afterlife as a superstition. But after more research in the field of Quantum Mechanics and Quantum Chromodynamics, scientists are somewhat skeptical about the old belief, and some actually started to have a shift in their perceptions and started accepting the paranormals and the probability of their existence. And to me this is the beauty of science. One is never bound to a rigid, untouchable faith, but open to different possibilities, and susceptible to be shifted in his/her paradigm without the sense of guilt or fear. And being a skeptic, I always kept that option open.

Now what version of afterlife should I accept?
None of the above until I have more evidences of the nature of afterlife. That’s if the possibility of its existence is still valid. This thought by itself is liberating in many ways:

  • First; I do not need a set of manuals to dictate to me what should I be doing, and what should I be avoiding. Does this mean that I can be drifted into my wimps and desires? Au contraire, it exerts more responsibility on my shoulders, a responsibility that I ought to take as a mature individual in the society instead of assuming a childlike personality. A person who can rationalize and plan actions instead of someone who awaits instructions for each and every action. There is a nice quote I forgot where I heard before ”with freedom comes grave responsibilities”, this feeling is very liberating although more bounding. Self-control comes from within. And since this issue is very diverse, and beyound the scope of this post, I may go into it separately in the future.
  • Second; this very thought of self dependence puts more pressure on me as an individual to increase and update my search for the truth; my own truth and not someone else’s. And the more I researched, the better I molded myself and the stronger became my conviction and my self-confidence.
  • Third; having relied totally on my own, made me stronger as a person and vanished any fear or sense of guilt that accompanied my doubts as a religious person. If afterlife exists, I do accept it as a different form of being, very much like being reborn in a different form and a different domain. When one is in the womb, one does not know what is awaiting him/her in life. And afterlife should not be any different.
  • Forth; accepting afterlife as a different form also means accepting other paranormal hypothesis in a different form than what is portrayed in religion. This rids oneself from the superstitions that has long been akin to religious beliefs, and was used by it as a very strong source for fear inducing faith. Which means that I became a much stronger person when dealing with mysteries of life. Let me give you some examples; I live alone and enjoy my solitude, I’m not afraid of the dark, the Jin, nor I’m afraid of death. I do accept the death of close people as a natural process although I miss them greatly. And I expect to have my last days on earth celebrating with my acquaintances and loved ones the last moments, if I had the chance, instead of asking them for forgiveness in order to ensure my rewards on the other side of the border.
  • Fifth; I perceive life as the only reality. I accept it being finite, and the fact that I snatched myself out of a limited group, gave me a stronger bond to a larger one. It diverged me into globalization that increased my awareness of mankind and nature. There is an old Chinese wisdom that goes something like ” if you want to solve a problem, come out of your turtle shell and look at it from the outside, for as long as you are inside, you’ll never see the problem”. Imagine you are taking a trip on a spaceship orbiting Earth, look towards it and tell me what do you see? Do you see groups disagreeing and fighting? Can you hear their excuses? Not at all, these are the details that you see and hear when you are on Earth. With my new perception; I can only picture E.T.(5) with his innocent eyes, pointing up his finger and saying “HOME”.
  • Sixth; knowing that there is no questioning, and no Heaven and Hell, Halal and Haram is irrelevant to me. A believer might slip, then repent, then slip again and again repent. And with each slippage and repentance there is a period of immense feelings of guilt involved. While to me if I feel like doing something, I don’t perceive it as Haram or Halal, I perceive it as whether this is beneficial to others and me or not. In other words; I leave more space for my brains to weigh things instead of just obeying orders. This guarded me from slippage, secured me from excess. And saved me from guilt and fear. I am the master of myself and my actions, and there is no freedom beyond that.
  • Seventh; through the concept of the points mentioned above; I learned how to live my life in moderation and enjoy every bit of it, knowing that it’s the only thing I can keep for a while.
  • Eighth; how about immortality? The element that humans strived for in centuries, how could I give up immortality, it’s not in my humanely nature to do so. Well; the only way I perceive immortality as a skeptic is through man deeds on Earth; good or bad. And by good I mean how much did he/she contribute to life and mankind, and bad is, obviously, how much damage he/she inflicted. Great scientists, philosophers, poets as well as artists are immortals, tyrants are also immortals. Someone like Albert Einistine, Newton or Khaleel Jibran never dies. Also someone like Hitler, Stalin and Saddam Husain never dies. And although immortality is not an easy process for a layman, but it’s not impossible. This perception gave me the incentive for being ambitious, and was the strong drive behind trying to perfect whatever I do, and give it my best shot.
  • Ninth; how about spirituality? How can I seek that outside of religious domains? I remember when I took my first “Assembly” course in Electronics. The subject was so hard and it demanded a lot of programming using binary codes and probability theories. And if you have an idea of the mathematical probability theories, you would know what agonies I went through. It took me practically four weeks of continuous work, where I hardly left the Electronics lab. So many disappointments in the results that were coming out as I kept changing my data. So much frusteration. And I wasn’t the only one; other students were also facing the same problems. But the moment I received my final satisfactory grade, I felt the Earth shaking under my feet. The sense of freedom and happiness was so immense that I almost was flying on air to reach home and annonce the news to my husband. That was a feeling that no other elment can induce; the feeling of accomplishment. And I consider this feeling to be spiritual. Accomplishing a task is spiritual, listening to a favorite music is spiritual, watching a favorite program is spiritual. Reading and writing poetry is spiritual. Spending quality time with your loved ones is spritual. Reading and researching, even bloging could be spiritual. In a nutshell; appreciating and enjoying the abundance of life on Earth is spiritual.
  • Tenth; What is the purpose of life then? Well, I don’t know, even religion could not answer that question rationally. On one part I learned that man was created to build and flourish Earth, fair enough. On the other; Quran says “wa ma khalaqna aljina wa alins illa liya3bodoon” i.e; God created man and Jin to worship him……. Why? And if that is the case, then why didn’t God, the omnipotent and the omniscient create perfect slaves with a set of programmed instructions and no brains. Man (who is supposedly God’s creation) can do that nowadays with simple Robots, couldn’t He have done that? This even sounds like an insult to the creator of such complex, minute and precision prone universe. So, the first reasoning is more logical and I can accept it. And accordingly, do my duty as an individual to stop destruction and encourage building. And I see that the distructive effects of political religion has far exceeded its constructive effects, and therefore I see it my duty to contain religion within the boundaries of the individual’s vicinity (mosque, church and temple), and away from political life, and that’s why I chose secularism as the means to fight religious dominance.

(1)Agnosticism: The doctrine that certainty about first principles or absolute truth is unattainable and that only perceptual phenomena are objects of exact knowledge. The belief that there can be no proof either that God exists or that God does not exist. (Answers.com)
(2) Skepticism: The doctrine that absolute knowledge is impossible, either in a particular domain or in general. Or a methodology based on an assumption of doubt with the aim of acquiring approximate or relative certainty. Or doubt or disbelief of religious tenets. (Answers.com)
(3) My addition
(4) I have a personal issue with a divorce case that lasted more than 7 years in courts without any results so far when the decision is left to the concerned judge and there are no clear passages to this case in the shareeat, although my case is considered common.
(5) E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (click the link pls)

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thalmu eddeen
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 17:48:56

    KM is a skeptic himself, his Ramadaniyat posts are the evidence, but the #1 blogger seems a bit reluctant to admit it to himself before he does publicly. It will take someone like you Ayya, to shed light on the religion subject with logic and reason.

    Reply

  2. Geopolitical
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 18:15:00

    if ayya sheds light then please let me stay in the dark. lol

    Reply

  3. ولاّدة
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 21:24:54

    مساء الخير

    مساء لا تغيب فيه شموس الحكمة والتسامح المشعان من كتاباتك صديقتي

    قراءة الشعر فعل روحاني
    جملة هزتني
    كنت دائماً أشعر بخشوع ما لا أستطيع تفسيره وأنا أقرأ قصيدة مميزة

    الهدم الذي يقوم به الدين السياسي على مر العصور أمر محيّر بالفعل…إن كان الغرض من خلق الإنسان إعمار الأرض…تساؤل طالما جال في خاطري… وها أنتِ تطرحينه بجرأة وحيادية..فشكراً لكِ

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 21:48:51

    Hi guys
    Sorry to say that this published article was supposed to be a draft and not the final version. I have published it by mistake last night before going to sleep. I needed to proofread it this morning before publishing but was surprised to see it published. So forgive me if you see some sentences added here and there after you read it the first time. I had to fix it so it won’t confuse the reader.
    Thank you all for your patience.

    Reply

  5. kasik ya watan
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 00:57:06

    رائعة كالعادة يا آيا

    الموضوعية التي تتسمين بها هي سلاحنا الأقوى في مواجهة أي قوى متخلفة تحاول سلبنا حرية الرأي والتفكير

    هم لا يستطيعون تحمل موضوعيتك هذا لأنها تبين ضعفهم وهشاشة الأسس التي يبنون عليها إعتقاداتهم التي هي ليست نتاج أفكارهم أساساً وإنما هي أفكار تم صبها في عقول تم تأطيرها بحواجز يحرسها سجانون لن يتوانوا في قتل من يحاول الخروج من هذه الأطر

    … الله يساعدهم على نفسهم ويحفظنا منهم

    … وكاسك

    Reply

  6. thalmu eddeen
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 19:00:00

    Geo,

    you’re already there bro.

    but if you need to come to where the light is, then we’ll all be there for you.

    Reply

  7. Luloo
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 22:10:54

    يا سلام عليك … بوست رائع … تحليل ممتاز :*

    Reply

  8. AyyA
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 13:21:31

    TE
    It takes time for people to grasp the meaning of life dear. I’m sure one day Geo will find his own truth away from the influences around.

    Luloo and Kasik
    Cheers :*

    Reply

  9. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 17:25:35

    مشكورة آيا , موضوع طويل و توني واصل الكويت , اعدج بالقراءة الليلة

    Reply

  10. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 18:28:23

    صراحة ما قامت الاغراءات و قعدت بالدوام لقراءة الموضوع

    موضوع جميل و ممتاز و مشكورة عليه يا آيا

    مع احترامي للنقاط اللي ذكرتيها لكني شخصيا أجد نفسي منسجم مع معظم هذه النقاط بلا تعارض مع كوني مسلم

    قاعد اقرأ كتاب للكاتبة

    karen armstrong

    title

    a history of god

    الكتاب ممتاز و يتناول الكثير من الافكار و المعتقدات الدينية و كيفية امتزاجها و تطورها و انتهاء صلاحيتها و استبدالها و اعتقد انك تعرفين هذه الأشياء

    معظم الاشياء الدينية اللي نعاني منها اليوم هي اجتهادات و تراكمات و تبديلات و تحريفات للمعنى الحقيقي للدين

    انا شخصيا اشوف نفسي منسجم مع الدين كأصل و ماني شايف ان الدين مقيدني أو مقيد عقلي أو مقيد اخلاقي أو مسويني خروف

    نعم هناك الكثير من الخرفان لكن مو كل واحد مقتنع بدين فهو صابين فيه الدين كما ذكر كاسك

    أما عن مواضيع وجود الاله و الحياة بعد الموت فهي ايمانيات و ليس لها دليل علمي , لكن السؤال هو سواء موجود أو غير موجود فمالذي سيتغير بحياتك اليومية؟

    انا لا اكذب سواء اكو جنة او ماكو
    لا اسرق سواء اكو جهنم او ماكو
    لا اقتل سواء هناك رب أو لم يكن

    ليلحين ما شفت الميزة الحقيقية للا ديني على الديني

    كل ما ذكرتيه ممكن يمارسه هذا و ذاك مع بعض التعديلات

    شكرا مرة اخرى على الايفورت

    Reply

  11. Azziz
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 02:02:19

    kila_ma6goog

    “أما عن مواضيع وجود الاله و الحياة بعد الموت فهي ايمانيات و ليس لها دليل علمي , لكن السؤال هو سواء موجود أو غير موجود فمالذي سيتغير بحياتك اليومية؟

    انا لا اكذب سواء اكو جنة او ماكو
    لا اسرق سواء اكو جهنم او ماكو
    “لا اقتل سواء هناك رب أو لم يكن

    من ردك انت اساسا داخل في دائرة تعريف الادينيه وبالذات ألاأدريين بس مو ملحد ولو ماذكرت انك مسلم كان ممكن تكون لاديني .

    سلام

    Reply

  12. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:49:05

    الأخ العزيز عزيز

    من خلال قرائتي البسيطة للقرءان و تاريخ الأنبياء فقد اكتشفت ان معظم الانبياء يكونون في حالة بحث و تأمل و معاناة كبيرة في طريق التوصل الى الاله

    و لنا في قصة ابراهيم عليه السلام و طلبه رؤية الاله
    و موسى عليه السلام حينما كلّم الله
    و عيسى عليه السلام حينما طلب مائدة له و لحوارييه من الله

    هذه القصص سواء كانت خيال أو حقيقية الا انها مذكورة في القرءان الكريم و لها دلالة خاصة عندي و هي أن الشك و الحيرة و البحث الدائم عن دليل يطمئن به قلب الانسان هو شعور عادي و فطري و قام به أكثر من نبي و رسول

    لذلك فليس من العيب على الانسان أن يشك و يبحث و يشعر بالحيرة, لكن على الطرف المقابل ادعي ربي ان يدلني عليه و يساعدني في معرفته و الوصول اليه و تطويع نفسي في اذلالها له

    نعم , لو كان هناك دليل مادي علمي واضح أمامي فسيسهل علي و عليك و على آيا و بن كريشان تقبل الفكرة و الاقتناع بها, لكن للأسف نحن اليوم امام مجموعة كبيرة من النظريات و القصاصات المتضاربة , شي يقولك في اله و شي يقولك ماكو اله , شي يقولك في اكثر من اله و شي يقولك في حياة بعد الموت و شي يقولك كل هالكون صدفة بحته

    النظريات كثيرة يا اخي و انت ملزم بفحص هذه النظريات و اختيار الانسب منها , لكن عملية الفحص يجب ان تكون حذرة و محايدة يعني ما تشوف الشيعة يطقون صدر و تاخذ موقف و تقول شهالخرابيط و شهالدين الخربوطي, و لا انك تشوف المسلمين يتحزمون بالقنابل و تقول شنو هالدين الدموي الخربوطي كما للأسف يروج البعض هنا و هذي نغزة

    أقصد ان البحث يجب ان يكون موضوعي و هاديء و فيه تفكر و احترام للنفس و تسليم بعيد عن الأهواء, و انا شخصيا قرأت كتب تتكلم عن الاسلام و عن الرسول و تشرح كيف انه هو من اخترع القرءان و هالكلام مع ذكر ادلة كثيرة لكني الى الآن مؤمن بديني و بربي و برسولي و بقرآني و لي ادلة كثيرة على صحة اعتقادي, على الأقل هذه الادلة تبقيني على ايماني و بالعكس تجعلني اشعر بمدى قوة ايماني و اختبره

    و كما قلت في تعليقي السابق نحن أمام احتمالات كثيرة أولها ان هناك فرصة أن نموت و نكتشف بان ليس هناك جنة و نار و اله و دين, و هناك احتمال آخر باننا نموت و نكتشف ان هناك جنة و نار و اله و دين

    طيب انا اليوم أمام هالاحتمالين, و انا شخصيا اقول اذا كان ماكو شي فمو مشكلة, لكن اذا الاحتمال الثاني هو الصحيح و كان اكو حساب و عقاب, فالأفضل ان اكون مأمن نفسي و ملتزم بالأفعال اللي تضمن لي تجاوز هذا الاختبار و الوصول الى المكان الأفضل و هو الجنة

    طيب , الآن آتي الى الدين الموجود و اللي يقال اني لو التزمت به فسأصل الى الجنة و اختبر هذا الدين و اشوف هل يطلب مني طلبات تعجيزية عقليا أو جسديا؟ هل هذا الدين يطلب مني المشي بالمقلوب عشرين سنة؟ هل هذا الدين يطلب مني حرق أعضائي التناسلية كل اسبوع؟ هل هذا الدين يطلب مني سب والدي و أمي كل عيد؟

    لا

    بالعكس , هذا الدين يقولي يا محمد لا تكذب, و يا محمد لا تسرق, و يا محمد حب والدك و والدتك و صير طيب معاهم, و يا محمد ساعد الناس , و يا محمد لا تعتدي على غيرك, و يا محمد أحب لاخيك ما تحب لنفسك , و يا محمد اجتهد في حياتك و عملك , و يا محمد و يا محمد و يا محمد

    كل تعليمات هذا الدين متطابقة تماما لأخلاقي و منسجمة مع فطرتي السليمة الخيرة, و كلها سهلة التنفيذ و لا تتطلب مني مجهود خارق , فشنو المانع اني اسويها تحت مظلة الدين و انا كنت اصلا سأفعلها حتى لو كنت تحت مظلة الأخلاق او مظلة العلم او مظلة الفلسفة

    آسف اطلت في الكلام و لكم الشكر

    Reply

  13. thalmu eddeen
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 00:29:31

    بعد الإذن من صاحبة المدونة..

    كله مطقوق,

    التعليمات التي ذكرتها, والتي هي على لسان الرب إلى محمد, كلها صحيحة. لكنها منتقاة!
    لا يخفى عليك أن الخطاب المتسامح جاء في السنوات ال13 الأولى من بدء الدعوة, عندما كان محمد في مكة.
    لكن ذلك الخطاب نسخ تماما بعد استقرار صاحب الدعوة في المدينة, وأصبح الخطاب عدوانيا, يجيز ثم يحرض ثم يأمر بالفتك بكل من لا يؤمن بالله ( ورسوله), ويبيح استباحة الأرض والعرض.والآيات والأحاديث التي تؤيد ذلك كثيرة.
    وملاحظة أخيرة حول التطرف (من قبل الفئتين الرئيسيتين من المسلمين), هل فكرت من أين جاء؟
    أما ما أرجوه منك, فهو أن تنورنا بالأدلة الكثيرة التي تثبت صحة اعتقادك كما تفضلت.
    وبالمناسبة, كلمة ” اعتقاد” بحد ذاتها, تثبت أنه مجرد اعتقاد, أي غير مؤكد. لذا, فإني ” أعتقد” أن قصدك هو أن تقول: وعندي أدلة كثيرة على صحة ” معتقدي”!
    ( مشتقة من ” عقيدة”)

    Reply

  14. Azziz
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 01:34:10

    أخوي kila_ma6goog

    شي جميل انك مانت شايف تعارض بين مثلك ألأخلاقيه والدين زي مانت فاهمه. لكن لو صار عندك تعارض بين قيمه أخلاقيه عندك والدين كيف راح تتصرف؟ هل ستنسبها للدين وهي ماهي منه؟ وهل راح يسمح الدين بنسبها اليه؟ وهل ستعتقد أنك عندك قيمه أخلاقيه ماهي موجودأصلا في الدين أو أفصل مما هو موجود في الدين؟

    أسهل عليك الموضوع وأعطيك مثال لو كنت أو كان أي شخص يؤمن بالتعامل مع الحيونات بطريقه أخلاقيه أي ذبح الحيوانات وأكل لحومهاهو عمل غير أخلاقي وهي قيمه موجوده عالميا وكذالك تاريخيا . في الحاله هاذي ايش حيصير رد فعلك لما تشوف ألأضاحي في الحج تنذبح بالألاف , بالطبع ممكن تشعر اللي قاعدين يسونه هو عمل غير أخلاقي بالنسبه لقيمك ألأخلاقيه.

    طبعا هذا مثال وقس عليه.

    ,احب أقول لأيا مدونتها راقيه ومجهودها رائع

    وأشكرك أخوي
    سلام

    Reply

  15. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 02:23:44

    السلام

    الأخ ظلام الدين – يرجى تصحيح الاسم ان كنت ترجمته غلط

    بالنسبة للأدلة فكما قلت هي مطمئنة لي شخصيا و لاعتقادي الشخصي و مو شرط يقنع فيها الغير

    أحد هذه الأدلة هو اتفاق المؤرخين على ان شخصية الرسول كانت شخصية خيرة بشكل عام و لم تظهر عليه بوادر سيئة , يعني هو كان الصادق الأمين الطيب اليي يساعد الفقراء و ينصر المظلومين قبل الرسالة

    فمن الصعب تقبل ان شخص كهذا ينقلب على نفسه و يبدأ بسرد الأكاذيب و الادعاء لما ليس له

    يعني صدام ارتكب مجزرة الدحيل و حلبجة و الانفال فليس من الصعب تقبل انه ارتكب مجازر بالكويت لأن السياق العام لشخصية هذا الرجل دموية و من السهل اكتشاف اسباب هذا الاجرام و بزوغه من تاريخه

    لكن تخيل انك تقولي صدام بعد كل هذه الجرايم بدأ يفعل اعمال خير و تحول الى شخص طيب و مسكين و متسامح مثل عيسى عليه السلام, فمن المؤكد اني لن اتقبل هالمعلومة لانها لا تنسجم مع سياق الشخصية

    أيضا عندما تقرأ الاحاديث المنسوبة الى الرسول صلى الله عليه و سلم فانك تميز بسهولة اسلوبه في اللغة و انا شخصيا اميز احيانا احاديث الامام علي لغويا حتى لو لم اكن اكن اعلم انها للامام علي

    و بالنظر الى اللغة المستخدمة في القرءان فمن الواضح ان لغة القرءان هي ليست لغة النبي و كلش مو راكبة , الاسلوب و المفردات و اللغة و صياغة الجمل من الصعب ان نربطها الى نفس الشخص

    شي آخر, لو كان الدين تأليف و اخراج الرسول و هو مجرد شخص طامع في السلطة و الملذات فلماذا حرم الخمر؟ و لماذا فرض الزكاة و لماذا اخترع الصلاة؟ يعني كان ممكن يأمر بكثير من الأشياء اللي تسهل انتشار سلطته و زيادة ملذاته بشكل اكبر

    بالنسبة للنقطة اللي أثرتها و هي اختلاف اللغة بين الآيات المكية و المدنية و دخول عنصر الحرب و العنف في الآيات المدنية فهو لأن المسلمين قبل الهجرة لم يكونوا الا مجموعة صغيرة و عايشين عيشة عادية ما فيها لا حرب و لا جيوش و لا شيء

    أما في المدينة فقد اخذت عناصر الدولة بالاكتمال و بدات الظروف تتغير و اصبحت هناك أطماع و تهديدات خارجية و داخلية مما حتم عليهم الحرب و في القرءات تجد ان معظم هذه الآيات تذكر الحرب مسبوقا أو متبوعا بان اذا اعتدي عليكم و ايضا تلحق بكلمات تدل على ان التسامح افضل

    طبعا هذا رأيي الشخصي و محد مجبور على الاقتناع به لكنك سألتني فأجبتك

    الأخ العزيز عزيز

    صراحة انا شخصيا لم اجد شيء متعارض مع معتقداتي الخاصة, نعم احيانا مالي خلق اتصدق باموالي للفقراء لكن في النهاية انا مؤمن بان هذا شيء جيد رغم عدم رغبتي في عمله

    بالنسبة للمثال اللي طرحته و هو قتل الحيوانات فصراحة انا من اكلة اللحوم و صعب اني اجاوب عليك

    الزبدة انك يجب ان تكون شوي موضوعي بالحكم على هذه الأشياء يعني أكل الحيوانات شيء طبيعي عند 99.999% من الناس و عدد الناس النباتيين لأسباب انسانية يعتبر قليل جدا و مقارنة بالبقية

    أكرر اننا يجب ان نغوص اعمق من هذه الأشياء يعني هذه الأشياء تعتبر هامشية أمام السياق العام للدين, خصوصا مع عدم وجود قيم انسانية مشتركة يتفق عليها جميع الناس غير القيم الموجودة في الديانات بشكل عام

    شكرا جزيلا و كما قلت كافة ما اكتب هو رأي شخصي بحت لا يلزم المسلمين او غيرهم

    Reply

  16. thalmu eddeen
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 09:59:33

    مطقوق _ بعد الإذن ثانية,

    التاريخ يكتبه المنتصر.
    المؤرخون الذين”يجمعون” على أن محمدا كان شخصا خيرا, لم يدونوا سيرته إلا بعد مرور مايقارب المئة وخمسين عاما من الزمان – إبن أسحق – أي في العصر العباسي!)
    ولا شك أن محمد كانت له العديد من الصفات, ومن بعضها والتي لم تذكرهاأخي الكريم, هي أنه كان ذكيا,ذو كاريزما قوية,ذو منطق, صبور, مفكر, طموح لأقصى درجة, محبا للشعر ومقدرا لتأثيره على المستمع( بالإضافة لصفات أخرى نحن في غنى عنها الآن)
    إذن, من البديهي أن يكون الداعي( المنفرد) متسامحا في بداية الأمر.
    أما الأحاديث, فقد دونت هي الأخرى بعد أكثر من قرن ونصف – البخاري!
    وبالنسبة للغة النبي وأسلوبه , فيرجى الإطلاع على كتاب طه حسين ” في الشعر الجاهلي” وكذلك كتاب معروف الرصافي” الشخصية المحمدية”.
    محمد لم يكن يشرب الخمر, فلا ضير أن ينزل التحريم بصيغة مخففة ” إجتنبوه!”. أما الزكاة فهي وسيلة لضمان استمرار بقاء الفقراء في الملة الجديدة.
    الصلاة لم تكن شيئا جديدا, فالزرادشتيون ( 700 سنة قبل المسيحية) كانت لديهم صلاة من أربع فروض ويتوضئون قبلها. كما أن زرادشت قد ” أسري به إلى السماء على ما يشبه البراق!
    مطقوق, أنت تقول “..يعني كان ممكن يأمر بكثير من الأشياء اللي تسهل انتشار سلطته و زيادة ملذاته بشكل اكبر .”
    وقد فعل محمد ذلك. فالكثير من الآيات تقرن محمد بالله حيث تجب طاعته والأخذ بما جاء به وباجتناب ما نهى عنه.
    أما ملذاته, فقد روي عن عائشة أنها قالت له” الله يسرع في هواك!”
    أما بخصوص ما كان من أمر محمد في المدينة, فأنت تقول
    “.. أما في المدينة فقد اخذت عناصر الدولة بالاكتمال و بدات الظروف تتغير و اصبحت هناك أطماع و تهديدات خارجية و داخلية مما حتم عليهم الحرب ..الخ”
    لم تكن هناك دولة. فمحمد يفترض به نبيا جاء يدعو لدين جديد وليس سياسيا أتى ليؤسس دولة.
    أما الآيات التي تدعو للحرب مسبوقة ب ” أذا اعتدى عليكم” فهناك ما يقابلها من آيات لا تشترط ذلك بل تحرض على العدوان.

    Reply

  17. AyyA
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 16:24:06

    Hey every one
    Sorry to have taken so long to reply, but I had just gotten back to Kuwait; jet-lagged and have many family obligations. Besides; I have said what I wanted to say in the post and expected to see your point of view in the comments. So no need for apologies if you take a lot of space. The space is all yours. And I care to see a healthy debate going on between all sides of the argument. I enjoy reading all your comments and I do learn a lot from you, so keep it coming guys.
    Cheers to all of you.

    Reply

  18. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 05, 2007 @ 18:23:26

    الأخ ظلام الليل

    كما قلت بأن التاريخ انكتب بعد فترة طويلة جدا من وفاة الرسول و لذلك فكما ان ليس هناك دليل على ان شخصيته كانت كما يدعي المسلمين فأيضا ليس هناك دليل على ما تدعيه و انه استخدم حبه للشعر لصياغة القرءان و ان بايق كونسبت الصلاة من الزرداشتية

    انا بالنسبة لي اشوف كما قلت لك السياق العام و لا اعير اهتمام كبير للحوادث الفردية كوننا أولا ما كنا عايشين بنفس الفترة و نفس المكان و مثال على ذلك

    كثير من الأفعال و الافكار كانت عاية قبل عشرين سنة و اليوم هي مستنكرة , و العكس ايضا صحيح , وايد اشياء اليوم عادية قبل 10 سنوات كانت مستنكرة

    اذكر قبل الغزو كانت البنت اللي تكلم شباب تعتبر شاذة و بايعتها و بالغصب سوالف سمعتي و ما سمعتي

    الحين البنت اللي صكت الثمنتعش و ما تكلم تعتبر دينة و معقدة و مسكينة

    و طبعا بعد عشرين سنة ممكن نشوف موضة ثانية

    لذلك فأنا كوني مسلم حتى لو اشوف شي مو مريح بالتاريخ فأضع العذر على اختلاف الزمان و المكان و العادات و اللا عادات

    و اعتقد ان هذا العامل يجب ان يؤخذ في الحسبان عند الحكم على بعض المواقف

    شكرا

    Reply

  19. AyyA
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 01:08:54

    KM
    “لكني شخصيا أجد نفسي منسجم مع معظم هذه النقاط بلا تعارض مع كوني مسلم”
    This sounds to me very secular, be it a religious one.
    Karen Armstrong is a secular herself, or a freelance monotheist (as she’d like to call herself), she’s trying to modernize the three monotheist beliefs to find a single route of communication between them, in an effort to fight fundamentalism. Of course, to accomplish that, she is relying on her own interpretation of Islam, exactly what you are doing now to convince yourself that you are on the path of correct. And I’m sure her motive is very noble as is yours.
    But sorry to tell you that Karen is living a fantasy we’d all want to believe. And being a practical person; I see reality very bleak. It tells me that there are others out there who are taking every bit of the Instruction Manual literally. And to me, no matter how harsh that may sound, this represents the true Islam. I wouldn’t really have cared more or less if it was not causing a shame for us today to be called Muslims. To be categorized in an arrogant, blood thirsty religion. A religion that is proving everyday around the globe how intolerant it is. And I’m not being over sentimental and biased here; I’m barely testing reality. And the results are not good. Like a physician who examines the tumor and gets disappointed.
    And according to the above metaphor; I only see sedated Moslems, unaware of grasping the harsh reality of the danger within. And that’s where the real danger of religion lies.
    But mind you; the difference between me and you is that I think globally, but you’d rather stay in your shell, ignoring the flooding danger of religion because you have chosen religion as a personal issue, while religion is very much public.

    Reply

  20. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 14:06:16

    سلام آيا

    انتي قلتي ان الدين يستغل جهل الناس و من هالكلام

    طيب مو مشكلة

    لكن يجب علينا الاعتراف ان 90% من الناس يبون شي جاهز, ما يبون يقرؤون و يفكرون و يناقشون و لذلك فكما نرى ان التيار الديني مسيطر على الغالبية العظمى سواء كان اسلامي أو مسيحي أو يهودي او غيرهم

    حقيقة ان الغالبية العظمى من الناس تبي شي جاهز و تبحث عن من يعلمهم أو يأمرهم بماذا يفعلون و كيف يفعلونه و شنو الصح و شنو الغلط

    فسؤالي لك و للأخوة اللا دينيين

    اذا جاكم 90% من الناس و قالولكم نعم نحن غير مقتنعين بالأديان الموجودة, ممكن تعلمونا كيف نعيش حياتنا؟

    ناطر الرد

    Reply

  21. AyyA
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 21:59:41

    KM
    Let me rephrase what you wrote; 99% of people look up to the learned. Religious clerics through history were to them the learned elite. Especially that religion demands total devotion and blind faith. These people never questioned those clerics; they just obeyed, since to them they were representatives of the supernatural. Which also includes an easier way for the clerics to use them when they needed to. And that’s how most people got dependant on them to conduct even the smallest errands in their lives. Now I believe that time had changed. People are more educated and therefore smarter. Modern city environment and high level of education and civil laws are sufficient for an individual to know how to conduct his life. But of course this is a far-fetched hope, yet it could be accomplished. At this time I think it’s the duty of the learned to educate the masses about the dangers of the destructive religious dogmas, and that religion should not be taken literally.

    Reply

  22. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 12:37:11

    صراحة لست مقتنعا بجوابك

    نعم العلم زاد و المجال مفتوح للعلم الذاتي -زي حلاتي – لكن لا زال أغلب الناس و لا ابالغ ان قلت الغالبية العظمى لا تريد أن تتعب حالها و تقرأ و تبحث و تناقش و تجد البدائل

    لاحظي ان الأديان الموجودة حاليا ليست بالسيئة اذا قارنا عدد متبعيها مع عدد من يتجه الى الارهاب منهم, نعم التعصب موجود في كل شيء ليس الدين فقط لكن الارهاب قليل مقارنة بعدد متبعين الاديان

    و لذلك فالطريق امام اللادينيين صعب لأنهم بالبداية يجب عليهم اثبات أن اتباع الأديان ليس الاسلوب الأمثل للحياة

    ثم

    عليهم أن يوضحوا للناس ما هو الاسلوب الأمثل للحياة و كيف ان هذا الاسلوب افضل من اتباع الاديان و الاساطير

    سؤالي الاول كان كيف ترين نفسك غير عن متبعي الاديان

    سؤالي الثاني هو لو كنتي معلمة للناس كيف يعيشون فماذا ستعلميهم

    اعتقد السؤالين واضحين للنقطة اللي ابي اوصلها مع التوضيح زيادة بهذا التعليق

    الزبدة ابي اعرف ما هي دعوتك أو دعوتكم ان كنتم متشاركين في نفس المعتقدات؟

    شكرا

    Reply

  23. thalmu eddeen
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 12:39:15

    الأخ كله مطقوق,

    ٍسأفترض أن سؤالك هو فعلا من أجل النقاش المثمر وليس التهكم.

    بعض مما سنقوله لهم هو التالي:

    (1) عيشوا حياتكم تحت قانونكم المدني الذي وضعته لكم دساتيركم.

    (2) من أراد منكم اتٌباع دين من الأديان فهو حر فيما يختار طالما أبقى ذلك بينه وبين ربه.

    (3) اجعلوا من السلام غايتكم الأسمى, فعندما يعٌم السلام والأمن تزدهر العلوم وتتقدم الأمم.

    (4) حافظوا على بيئتكم.

    (5) شجٌعوا الفنون.

    (6) ثم نذكٌرهم بكل التعاليم, السماوية وغير السماوية, التي تدعوا إلى التسامح وحب الخير واجتناب أعمال الشر.

    القصد هو أن البشر الذين وضعوا الشرائع والدساتير ليسٌيروا بها حياتنا منذ آلاف السنين, لا يمكن لهم أن يكونوا أعلم بحالنا منٌا. لذلك, يصبح من المنطقي أن نقوم نحن بتصريف شئون عيشنا حسب ما نراه, آخذين في اعتبارنا أن ما نضعه من قوانين لن تكون, ولا يجب أن تكون, ملزمة لمن سيأتي بعدنا.

    Reply

  24. AyyA
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 18:06:20

    First of all; no one is asking others to change their beliefs. People are free to conduct their lives the way they see fit. And mind you, I do respect a person who has a principle, be it a religious one or otherwise, so long he makes that his business alone.
    As you are well aware, religion has taken over all areas of our lives. Clerics are getting wealthier every day and more powerful. As the masses getting more and more dependant on them. How did this happen? Directed education, whether in schools, Mosques or Husainiyas. It got to the point that with a remote control, clerics can move the masses. And examples are many; take the Danish cartoon episode, Nasrulla’s control on Shiite of Lebanon or Benladen’s control over Sunni radicals. And the problem with this is not the clerics themselves, but with people who have faith in Quran and tradition, which make them susceptive to fraud, brainwashing and illogical thinking.
    But if I were a teacher I would first expose religion (Quran and tradition) using facts, logic, researched history and not the history that was made by a single source. The more you educate these people, the less they are controlled by the clerics. And the more people will accept modern civil laws, be it gradually. When individuals realize that their faith is not perfect, they are more willing to abide to human laws than those of the scriptures. They become more understanding and tolerant to other religions. In a nutshell; one step closer to a civilized secular society. Religion can stay personal; but it won’t survive as the ruler of one’s life.

    Reply

  25. AyyA
    Feb 07, 2007 @ 18:45:44

    “سؤالي الاول كان كيف ترين نفسك غير عن متبعي الادي”
    I feel more responsibility towards mankind than they do, because my perception is much wider than their enclosed ones.

    Reply

  26. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 01:04:39

    سلام

    للأسف شكلي مو قادر اوصل الفكرة عدل لكم

    ظلام الليل
    الكلام اللي تفضلت فيه اغلبه تابع للفعر العلماني و اهو فصل الدين عن الدولة لكن ليس جواب على سؤالي اللي يتكلم عن اللا ديني و ليس العلماني

    آيا
    احس انك مو مستوعبة سؤالي

    احاول اعيده

    انا ما قاعد اتكلم شنو تبين تفرضين على الناس

    اللي اقوله ان اغلب الناس مالهم خلق اهم يخلقون حق نفسهم منهج و اعتقاد و فكر جديد بعيد عن المعتقدات الدينية , فما هو بديلك لو قالولك احنا نبي نترك الدين بس نتركه حق شنو؟ شنو البديل اللي افضل منه؟

    انا مادري حاس من ردودكم و نظرتكم عن الدين فيها قصور و مثالية مثل هالجملة

    And the more people will accept modern civil laws,

    بالذمة منو ماشي على القوانين المدنية اليوم؟

    Reply

  27. AyyA
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 06:07:22

    KM
    May be I did not understand your question bro, because I did not see it as a relevant one. And I hope others who are reading this can correct me if I’m wrong.
    Are you expecting that the unbelievers would come up with a system (instruction manual) that should compensate for the religious ones????
    You say people need direction, I say they need education. Let’s learn from medieval Christianity, and see how Christians made it to a secular society away from church control. At the end of the day; secularism is our aim, not the call for blasphemy. People should learn how to depend on themselves, they should be aware of their basic rights. They should create their own beliefs and assume responsibility on doing that. A non believer is a free thinker, his a,b,c’s come from his own thinking, rationalizing through man’s civil laws, years of researches in constitutions, and international human rights, and not some dictating manual. People would have to be educated to do that. School should be unbiased in their education; media should take an unbiased stand to religion. Companies should stop blocking sites and banning information under lame excuses. People on the Net should encourage freethinking. It’s the environment that molds masses, a freethinking society breads freethinking and encourages individual beliefs. All this would eventually lead to form a personal belief depending on one’s rational thinking. The opinions of the environment would have an affect on the layman who is too lazy to do research. and that should be enough for him/her to form a belief.
    Now look at what’s happening after blogging had forced it’s presence on the Net; people are more open with their thoughts and more diverse in their opinion. A thing that was hardly the case about few years back.

    Reply

  28. AyyA
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 07:22:27

    Oh, and don’t think that I’m too idealistic; I know what I’m asking for can’t be readily implemented, considering today’s reality and people’s utter dependence on religion. That’s why I say, it’s time to make a move now, you, me and all the ones who have the power and the opportunity to express public opinion, to expose what myths people blindly hung on to through the years, and faithfully considered authentic. By doing so, people will start loosing faith in their religion as being literal. Meaning; They will eventually try to modernize the scriptures to suit modern life without paying attention to what does not make any sense in the scripture. Like what you are doing now, as I understood from your previous comments.

    Reply

  29. kila_ma6goog
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 00:00:08

    salam

    They should create their own beliefs and assume responsibility on doing that. A non believer is a free thinker, his a,b,c’s come from his own thinking,

    لا اتفق تماما مع هذه الفكرة

    و لا اتفق مع فكرة ان القانون و الدستور وحده كافي لتحديد حقوق و واجبات الناس

    هناك الكثير من المناطق الفارغة بين ما هو قانوني و ما هو اخلاقي و اذا تركنا كل فرد بالمجتمع ليبحث و يجد الأخلاقيات التي يريد ان يلتزم بها فانني لا ابالغ ان قلت اننا سنعيش في غابة

    هذا رأيي الشخصي و أعتقد ان تعليقك الثاني ممتاز رغم عدم اتفاقي الكامل معه

    مشكورة:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

