The Treasure Hunt

Almost two years ago, since I watched “What the Bleep do we Know?” and got to be more familiar with Quantum Mechanics (not to say that I completely understand it), my whole perception of the universe changed. Quantum physics; the theory of different probabilities, although remains to be just a theory, to me, explained a lot of things. I found it amazing; detaching me from many old belief systems, yet leaving a vast room to discover and interpret the beauty of natural phenomena. All experimental physics were just theories that took years of experimentations to be announced as facts. And the quantum mechanics is the baby of today and may be the bombshell of tomorrow.
I find science to be a work of art; where each piece discovered or proven adds to the blocks before it, and this is the beauty of science, it’s nothing but a game of treasure hunt.

Here is a documentary on quantum theory and the string theory that may make a building block for new discoveries, based on modern physics. And for those who have not watched “What the Bleep do we Know?”, I have added the last clip, enjoy.

The Elegant Universe/ Part One:

The Elegant Universe/ Part Two:

What the Bleep do we Know?:

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mosan
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 10:26:03

    by the way my friend I have the dvd of Stephen Hawking series about the universe, I never watched it because I am some how intimidated. Once you come back lets watch it together.

    Reply

  2. AyyA
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 21:25:19

    Mosan
    I have seen some clips of Stephen Hawking and didn’t like them much. I have received some DVD’s of “The Cosmos” by Carl Sagan just before leaving to the States. So may be it’s a good idea to watch them together instead?

    Reply

  3. AyyA
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 21:50:57

    On a second thought; why not, we can watch both 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ali & Musaed
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 17:03:58

    wow … you really care about physics … amazing … never seen people who are interested in this kind of stuff … but that is not bad … it is good … keep it up …

    Reply

  5. AyyA
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 20:09:48

    A&M
    Did you check the last clip? if not, I advise you to do 😉

    Reply

  6. soud13
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 22:22:50

    I watched the first clip, and I really enjoying what I see

    So please don’t start anew topic before I finish all the clips 🙂

    There is no such thing called complete truth, what is truth now maybe not tomorrow

    Reply

  7. AyyA
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 22:27:46

    Soud
    Yes, there is no absolute truth, that’s why we have to be open to all possibilities, and I won’t post for a long time, so take your time. and don’t miss the last clip, if you have not watched it before 😀

    Reply

  8. شرقاوي
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 18:44:05

    Ayya,

    Do not be dicouraged while reading Brian Green’s book.

    Here is a secret: When it comes to Quantum Mechanics, every one is confused.

    As for String Theory, ten or eleven dimensions are no more difficult to grasp than four.

    Reply

  9. AyyA
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 20:00:47

    I have Brian Greens’s book on my “to read list” thanks for the warning 😀
    As for Quantum Mechanics; I am surly dazzled, to me; in theory it makes perfect sense. But in real life; it does not; yet, it explains a lot of things. I don’t know how to put it exactly. I’m trying to find some answers in the book that I’m reading now written by Leonard Susskind “The Cosmic Landscape; String Theory and the Illusion of Intelligent design”.
    Thanks for the intellectual input.

    Reply

  10. شرقاوي
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 23:38:03

    Ayya,

    The problem we have in trying to grasp the concepts in Quantum Theory is this:

    1. The world being described is on a scale that is not comprehensible by our senses. In other words, it is like nothing we have seen or experienced.

    2. The other point is that it is based upon “uncertainty”. We have evolved in a world of certainty: you throw a ball to a team player, and the ball gets there. A space vehicle is shot toward a point in space where there is nothig, and few months later, the ship arrives at the doorstep of the intended planet — on time!

    Certainty is of the spiritual realm.

    Reply

  11. AyyA
    Jan 13, 2007 @ 08:16:52

    Sharqawi
    How true
    Btw; do you think that Quantum theory works in the study of the mind? In other words; is it applicable to consciousness study conducted by reductionists?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

