Christmas Eve Ramblings

Ok what to do on Christmas Eve when all banks are closed and, well I’m waiting for some transactions, and today is Sunday, tomorrow is Christmas day, and nothing is open and my business has to wait till Tuesday 😦

dsc01992.JPG

So we decided, me and the boys, just to get lost, no, not exactly, we decide to walk on the streets and discover new places. The streets were practically empty, and that’s understandable, since almost every one is having a Christmas occasion with family, but hey, there was this place which was open, it’s called New Age. Wow, New Age is my place, actually, this is the place I call the treasure, I’m fond of candles and spiritual books and CD’s as well as DVD’s.

And here is what I got after spending almost two hours in there with the boys outside waiting (poor guys); some CD’s (eight of them) that I’ve been hunting through the Net for a long time, as well as a book 🙂

dsc01998.JPG

Then we strolled a bit more in the cold weather and saw this Irish Bar, what a treat, a place to have a drink and to warm up ha?
They were kind enough to let the boys in; one of them is underage. They have this pool room where the boys found their delight. As for me; I sat in a corner on a high stool. In front of me a Marlow glass on a high table, and further on, a bunch of people, loud but not to my attention, since I had my iPod playing my Enigma and Buddha bar music. But a couple of lovebirds were kissing right in front of me. Being the Kuwaiti I am, I could not resist ogling, they were not young, most probably in their forties, not good looking like movie stars either, but they looked beautiful. Something I’m not used to seeing back home, do you blame me for being a curious cat?

dsc02000.JPG

The atmosphere was very Christmassy; but I was too sober to notice at first, so I crossed my legs on the high stool and started reading my new book (on my lap). What a nice feeling, nobody paid attention; imagine if I did this in Kuwait, LOL

dsc02018.JPG

The decoration was like that of the old taverns; wooden walls mixed with brown bricks and oak wood walls and ceiling. Halve of the ceiling was open to the sky for fresh air since this was the smoking area, but there were heaters hanging to the ceiling, and with those and the effect of the Marlow, and of course the warm smiles of the people around, I did not feel the cold. And it amazed me that my youngest was winning all the pool games played in the room next to me. When did he learn that? hmmm. Another guy sitting next to me, unaware of my presence , as he was watching the NFL on TV. Time passed, between my book and occasional chatting with the people inside the bar. Everyone seemed happy and careless; did they know about the ministry of Sho2on banning guys from working in women’s stores? Nah… why do I have to think about that now?
On our way back I was a bit tipsy, so I raced the guys back to the hotel, and guess what, I won 😀

dsc01995.JPG

No, we did not get back to the hotel yet, we discovered this Indian bakery that was still open and decided to get some fattining goodies for breakfast tomorrow. And to my astonishment I found my favorite Rasmalai and Taramasso with rum, hmmm the original Taramasso, ok, when it comes to Taramasso I’m a beast. So I couldn’t wait for breakfast; I had a few and I’m so full and fulfilled, good night guys till tomorrow.

An update
A dedication from Soud to me and from me to all of you :*

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iDip
    Dec 25, 2006 @ 13:52:02

    “why do I have to think about that now?”
    – exactly 😉

    ask the people at the bakery if they make indian “spicy” tea (aka “chai latte”), it’s the best fight against xmas weather.. even better than Marlows ;p

    &

    Merry Christmas 🙂

    Reply

  2. Arfana
    Dec 25, 2006 @ 16:15:56

    Sounds like FUN 🙂

    anyway you can get me the recipe for Egg Nog? Pleeeeeease? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Intlxpatr
    Dec 25, 2006 @ 19:54:59

    AyyA, you sound GOOD! You sound HAPPY! Whatever you are doing, keep doing it!

    Reply

  4. shurouq
    Dec 25, 2006 @ 22:35:41

    Ayya,
    Glad you’re enjoying the holidays 🙂

    Let’s get together when you come back. You’ve been missed.. Min zeman ma shifnach.

    Wishing you a merry Christmas, Eid Mubarak, and a happy new year :**

    Reply

  5. ummel3yal
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 00:54:25

    Someone is having fun! Good for you girl 🙂

    Enjoy it!

    Love you :*

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 02:15:14

    iDip
    I hope that tea does not taste like the regular tea, coz I’m not a tea person. And I’m trying to take lots of things out of my mind, but unfortunately they keep popping 😦
    Merry Christmas to you too dear

    Arfana
    I am having fun sweetie, not because of the place, nor because of the weather, I’m enjoying the change of mentality.
    As for the eggnog; I guess you asked the worst person when it comes to cooking LOL
    But here is a link that may help since you said pleeeeeeeeese :*

    http://www.indepthinfo.com/eggnog/recipes.shtml

    intl
    I have regretted moving from California ever since I got married and moved to Tennessee, although I love Tennessee, but CA has a soft space in my heart. I love its diversity and the openness of its people, and it’s merciful sun, and surly would not think twice to retire here. The most important thing is that I don’t get to see the beardoes often 😀
    Happy holidays sweetie :*

    Sharouqa
    Can’t say that I’m enthusiastic about coming back, but I do miss you girl and can’t wait to see you again :**
    Merry Christmas, Eid Mubarak, happy new year and happy Hanukkah.
    Did you know that all the three monolithic religions are celebrating together this year? I hope this is a good omen !!!!

    Ummel3yal
    Hope the kids are doing fine, and yes I am having loads of fun. Waiting for someone else to follow my steps 😉
    Love you too sweetie :*

    Reply

  7. Alia
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 09:39:07

    “walk on the streets and discover new places” what a uniqe way to celebrate Christmas, I sure wanna try that someday (not in kuwait of course)
    glad that your enjoying it ;**

    Happy holidays

    Reply

  8. q80_demon
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 10:28:12

    AyyA:
    Happy holidays, and best of wishes to you and the young gentlemen 😀 I enjoyed the pictures in this post and the previous one; but most of all I valued your positive attitude and appreciation of the joys of life. Truly a driving force that – if universally embraced – should make the world a happier place.

    Reply

  9. mosan
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 11:13:47

    hey merry Xmas and happy new year

    it has been a while, where are you ? and when are you coming back ?

    miss you

    lots of love

    Reply

  10. soud
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 11:17:00

    One of my favourite song hotel of California I dedicated to u

    the lyrics u will find it here

    http://soud.wordpress.com/tag/general-poetry/

    “”and some Dance to remember and some Dance to forget “” 🙂

    Merry Christmas sweeti

    Reply

  11. NuNu™
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 13:27:44

    Wanasaaaa!!
    Miss you ;*

    Reply

  12. shopa
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 17:57:16

    sounds like a fun Xmas! How long are you staying more?
    Happy New Year’s

    Reply

  13. AyyA
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 19:34:14

    Hi guys
    Best news I had today, woke up on a long distance phone call I was waiting for, checked the online service and the bank transactions that were delayed because of the holidays are done, and the best news yet; an sms from Kuwaitna: i3tisam 6alabat kulliyat el6ib alyoom i7tijajan 3al man3 alikhtila6 fi kafiteriya alkulliyah…. Way to go Med. guys 😀

    Alia
    You have no idea what you may find by just strolling around and discovering the area, we may have walked more that three miles, good exercise as well, happy holidays sweetie :*

    DA
    I hope I would have more pictures soon, I will be busy for the coming few day, since I will be moving with the boys to the apartment and furnishing it, so may be for a while I would not have access to the Net. But I’ll make sure to have NYE pictures posted (we are planning to spend it in San Francisco), which is my birthday as well. Thanks dear for the compliment and I think it’s the spirit in air. Happy holidays.

    Mosano baby
    Hi sweetie, I missed you
    I’m in Mountain View, Silicon Valley, CA, been here a bit more than three weeks now, I sent you an sms, but I think at that time you were traveling since I got no reply. Anyway; I am scheduled to be back home on Jan. the 9th, but it seems that I will postpone since I have to finish some business here, I will sms you as soon as I get back, don’t worry, I’ll be there for your birthday, that’s for sure :*

    Sweet lollypop
    Missed you too :*

    Shopa
    I’m not sure, I may extend another month, it all depends on my business sweetie. Appy, Appy New Year 😀

    Reply

  14. AyyA
    Dec 26, 2006 @ 19:42:53

    Soud
    Thanks sweetie, that song brings special memories, you have no idea how you made my day, marry belated Christmas to you too :*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

