Ramadaniyat (XI)

Ramadan is almost over, and I guess this is my last Ramadaniyat post, so I’ll make it your post, because regardless of what I have mentioned in my previous Ramadaniyat posts; there is one question that is still puzzling me, although I think that I have reached the answer, but not sure;
Can man ever do without spirituality? And if he can’t; does this spirituality have to be connected to God of religions (the supernatural) ? In other words; can’t we be spiritual by other means?

Happy Eid* everyone and I’m waiting for your insights impatiently, I’ll let you do the talking this time, but please be honest 🙂

• Eid: celebration of breaking the fast of the month of Ramadan (this note is special to Intlxpatr 🙂 )

My mood today is a bit cranky; more like Evanescence’s “My Immortal”

EVANESCENCE LYRICS

“My Immortal”

I’m so tired of being here
Suppressed by all my childish fears
And if you have to leave
I wish that you would just leave
‘Cause your presence still lingers here
And it won’t leave me alone

These wounds won’t seem to heal
This pain is just too real
There’s just too much that time cannot erase

When you cried I’d wipe away all of your tears
When you’d scream I’d fight away all of your fears
And I held your hand through all of these years
But you still have
All of me

You used to captivate me
By your resonating light
Now I’m bound by the life you left behind
Your face it haunts
My once pleasant dreams
Your voice it chased away
All the sanity in me

I’ve tried so hard to tell myself that you’re gone
But though you’re still with me
I’ve been alone all along

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shopa
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 20:05:10

    Happy Eid ;*

    Reply

  2. bosale7
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 20:19:36

    كلما قل علم الانسان زاد بحثه عن اي ايمان كان …. العلم بالشي يكسر مجهوله ويحول محظوره الى ملموس

    الشعوب التي لا تعترف بالاديان ترينها تؤمن بالعلم..الشعوب التي لا تعترف بالاديان ولا بالعلم ترينها تؤمن بالخرافة والخزعبلات …. الشعوب التي لا تؤمن بالاديان ولا بالعلم ولا بالخرافات تريناه تؤمن بلغة البطش والقوة

    الايمان مختلف ….لكن كمية الاستزادة الفكرية هي المحك

    امتعتينا برمضانياتك…. نقاش جميل وحوار عقلي ممتع

    عيدج مبارك

    Reply

  3. Proletarian
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 21:42:33

    You will be surprise,
    But we can not live without God. God is the one who calm our fears and explain the unexplainable… he is the place where we take refuge in during a storm… he is the place which we want to be … and he is HOPE…
    I wish I have this hope… I wish I was deceived

    Reply

  4. ummel3yal
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 03:51:50

    Dear AyyA,

    As humans, we live with the continuous fear of death, isolation, the resposibility of freedom and finding meaning in our life and the universe (AKA existential givens). We can not survive without confronting and coping with their anxieties. God and the supernatural give an “easy” defense mechanisim against these anxieties as my son Che explained above. The other option(s), as you have illustrated in all the previous discussions require serious investments that many can not afford.

    A great old book I recommend is Yalom’s “Love’s Executioner” 🙂 In ten different tales of ten differnt people with diverse backgrounds, you see the same patterns!

    Spirtuality, God and religion are three different elements. Each has its uses and misuses. The more “realistic” hope is to reduce the misuse and the abuse.

    Why the cranky mood? Miss Ramadan already?!

    Be happy always!

    Reply

  5. Intlxpatr
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 06:05:45

    There’s this really bad movie, called the Mothman Prophesies, but it has one great line. Richard Gere is talking to some physicist who has seen this supernatural entity, and he asks him why, if they are so superior and can see so much more clearly, they don’t explain things to us clearly, and the scientist says “You’re pretty smart, aren’t you? Have you ever tried explaining something to a cockroach?” (or something like that.) I seem to catch that fragment from time to time and it always makes me laugh.

    I wasn’t raised religious; my parents aren’t religious, and I have always had a deeply religious thread running in me . . . my “style” is Christian; it’s what I know. Big Christian thinkers, though, like BIG picture Muslim thinkers, suspect that the picture is larger than any of us understand. I also believe in science, and that the two are not incompatible. The more we discover about the world and it’s interconnectedness, the more I believe there is a lot that we don’t understand yet.

    I think the holy books are guidelines, and comforting, and point the way, but any time men (as in mankind) draws lines saying “you’re in” and “you’re out” I get cold chills. I’m willing to bet the farm that there is a Creator, he is in control, and not one single one of us here on earth have the moral high ground.

    Reply

  6. Intlxpatr
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 06:07:58

    Sorry, I am babbling on in YOUR blog, but I also think that almost every religion offers up some variety of “God loves the seeker” the one who is looking for him, even in doubt. Looks to me like you qualify. 🙂

    Reply

  7. q80_demon
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 11:26:40

    “Can man ever do without spirituality?”
    I suggest listening to Ann Druyan in the following “Point of Inquiry” podcast.

    Reply

  8. nissrine
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 14:54:42

    Hi Ayya,
    My name is nissrine, from Montreal, i was surfing on the net when i accidently saw a link on alommah.org regarding your comment on the elections, ( it is probably a past event in your country but my curiosity led me to your blog as)i decided to read a kuwaiti point of view , more precisely, a feminine kuwaiti point of view. It is fascinating to me to see that all what is granted in my country is still battled in other countries. It is like if i am living history in modern times. My appologies if my words may seem ironic but that is not what i mean. Anyhow, i read almost all your ramadaniyat, and i found them immensely interesting not only that, but i find you extremely talented, reading you is a total pleasure. I find you an elegant observer of humanbeing, a curious traveler in our minds, and I do have some comments that i will make later on. I think i have to thank that Rat, i was scared of, for wakening me up with his noise, keeping me away from my bed, and leading me to the internet where my fingers typed, kuwait.
    Happy Eid,
    nissrine
    lifeisloveislife@hotmail.com

    Reply

  9. NewMe
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 00:43:07

    i find peace when i connect to my inner self..
    when i reach a conclusion after a steamy struggle..
    my spirituality reflects on helping the needy..
    becoming an active member in the society..
    holding a helpless hand in despair..
    giving love to all around me..
    my answer is yes..
    spirituality can be found in several means you just need to look for something that satisfies your needs..
    love your brilliant mind
    be happy
    cheers 🙂

    Reply

  10. NewMe
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 00:49:40

    and the song oh my god..
    a blast from the past..
    ***
    But though you’re still with me
    I’ve been alone all along
    ***
    and life goes on..
    beautiful choice

    Reply

  11. bosale7
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 16:02:32

    عيدج مبارك وايامج دووووم سعيدة

    Reply

  12. UmmEl3yal
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 22:46:50

    Happy Eid to you and all your readers 🙂

    Reply

  13. soud
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 01:03:19

    Happy Eid to you and all your readers 😛

    Reply

  14. kila_ma6goog
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 03:13:04

    عيدكم مبارك و عساكم من عوادة و تقبل الله اعمالكم

    Reply

  15. shurouq
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 03:20:29

    I’ve always connected spirituality to open-mindedness. So my question is: Can man be spiritual and remain religious?

    Ayya, I love you :*

    Reply

  16. introspectable
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 10:00:54

    to me religion is a kind of art and, therefore, it must be judged as such. it’s an interpretation of life, like a painting, and not designed to be a literal representation. feeding our spirituality with any religion or believe helps us appreciate non-empirical aspects of our existence!

    Reply

  17. AyyA
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 11:07:40

    Thank you guys for the invaluable insight, as for me I have always been a believer in God in the sense of providing a good source of spiritual fulfillment. Yet as a yogi, I have practiced spirituality without this type of connection, and I have seen many non-believers who also did. So I came to believe that there is no actual connection between the two and spirituality is self induced, yet it took me a long time to realize that, old habits are not easy to break 😉
    Anything in nature can help induce spiritually, and it all starts at the mind, but like many others; I have always connected that to God
    Thanks all for your participation and inspiration, as well as intellectual cyber brainstorming, the kind of intellectuality we all need desperately at least to raise conciseness amongst us, and bring us closer. No matter how much we learn, there is always more to learn, and I learned a lot from you guys.
    What made this Ramadaniyat interaction even more fruitful is that it was not limited to a certain ethnic groups or sects, this type of interaction that brings us all under one umbrella, when we realize that religion is basically all the same, and there are no major differences between them. And whether a believer or not, no one benefits from holding on to his beliefs and refusing to listen to others’. We learn to respect each other as complete packages, even if there were elements in those packages that we do not approve of. Respecting also means not getting into the private matters of others, imposing our beliefs, and this can only happen when we open ourselves to intellectual discussions and do it freely, without the fear of being rejected. One way to explain this is an axiom that goes something like ” put yourself in the shoe of the other and then feel” and that could only be done when we get to know each other better.

    Shopa
    Same to you sweetie :*

    Bosale7 and ummel3yal
    Your insights, as I perceived, were very logical and presented a lot of maturity, a point of moderation I talked about in one of my Ramadaniyats and pointed out that it’s very hard to achieve, I mean as a belief and not hearsay. You added substance to the discussion, and acted as a mid-link between all others, thanks you and happy Eid to you too.
    Ummel3yal
    As for my cranky mood; I’m usually a very calm person, but I also have sharp mood swings(not often), and when this happens, I don’t feel it’s fair to dump my crankiness on others, each one has enough of his bad days, so a bit of solitude takes care of that, then I’m fine, just like I am now 😀
    And yes, I do miss Ramadan, my Ramadaniyat are over 😦
    I’ll soon check Yalom’s “Love’s Executioner”, thanks sweetie

    Prol
    You are the other extreme to the hard liners, and although your opposites did not participate in commenting, but I’m sure many did read and at least some did think about what you mentioned.
    Ma nistagna 3anik

    Interlxpatr
    You presence added variety; you probably haven’t known much about Islam, as many Moslems don’t know about Christianity or Judaism except for what they read through their own beliefs or got through media. And don’t worry about babbling, on this blog you are free to take all the space you want, the main thing is to get closer, even if we disagreed on major issues. Thank you sweetie 🙂

    DA
    I have to take back what I said on one of my comments before; you are not my second encyclopedia, you are my search engine. You can’t imagine how much I learned from you. Bas la tishoof roo7ik 3alaina 3ad ;p
    Unfortunately the sound quality of Ann Druyan was not very good and I couldn’t find on Amazon her “science, wonder, and Spirituality”, but I ordered Cosmos DVD’s and can’t wait to watch them, by the way I am a collector of documentary DVD’s especially the ones that deals with spirituality, religion and universal energies.If you want to borrow some, 7athreen 😀

    Hi nissrine
    Your name has a sound of Eastern flavor, and thanks to the mighty rat that through His induced fears directed you to my path, this is a miracle indeed, Amen 😉
    And mind you, the history you are witnessing in modern age is a product of social regression due to the spread of religion enforced on this regain, either from the Wahabi movement in SA, or from the Sheet influence in Iran and Iraq.
    And regardless of the advances in science, the wave of religion is spreading rapidly. Not that religion had proved to be compatible with science, or the helplessness of science to provide all the absolute answers, but because, as I see it, little information is more dangerous than no information at all, this gives a way to clerics to misuse it. But the beauty of science lies in its constant, gradual unraveling of facts, and the more we know the closer we should be to forming a belief and not vise versa, let me explain more; knowledge is like treasure hunt, each box we open, should lead us to the other box and so on until we reach the treasure. With religion; the treasure is already known, so opening these boxes does not really matter, it only moves its possessors to direct each unraveled fact to the predestined treasure, even if that meant using deceptions and forgery. And since this is a very sensitive issue, believers are deceived to continue believing in miracles. And the masses keep going in the same circle without any comprehension to reality. And on that account I can bet you that after a decade, you’d probably be living on anther planet and we’d still be going in our predestined circles. Not really bad ha, like if you want to travel through time, then just come visit this area 😉
    Waiting for more of your insights 😀

    NewMe
    The more I read for you, the more I realize how much we are alike, be always well and happy.

    KM and soud
    Same to you my cyber delights, wi 3asa ayamkom kilha a3yad.

    Sharooqa
    LOL, 7ilwah, you really got me by surprise girl, I love your wittiness, heheheee
    Love you too sweetie :*

    Intro
    Your insights are more like Moslem philosophers, and so long you are happy with it, keep it as a private issue between you and God, and use it to benefit humanity, then I would respect and appreciate your outlook on life, and I think that this is the most important thing after all.
    Happy to see you around and happy Eid.

    Now, time to go visit mom, take care you all

    Reply

  18. q80_demon
    Oct 27, 2006 @ 13:42:24

    AyyA
    I’m delighted I managed to be of service to you and your esteemed readers. Yes, the quality of that particular podcast wasn’t good. Many podcasts are recorded from phone conversations and they suffer from the poor recording and transmission. Incidentally, I’ve become a podcast junkie; in fact now I carry a selection of iPods with me to cover the various podcasts I wish to listen to over the day at work, home, while driving, … etc. I’m still waiting for someone to develop a decent waterproof iPod speaker set to be used in the bathroom ;-D

    The Varieties of Scientific Experience will be released this week. Ann Druyans dedication to the memory and legacy of her late husband is very remarkable (I wonder how my ex will remember me :-?). I’m honored that I’ve attended an event with Druyan as a guest speaker some years ago. Cosmos was – and remains – a phenomenal program. In the 1980s KTV massacred some of the episodes to laughable extents (the local censor didn’t appreciate Sagans mention the mosques in Alexandria! :-/ ), and two episodes – dealing with biological and cosmological evolution – were not shown – period!

    Many thanks for your kind offer. IMHO, the premier video collection on spirituality has to be Joseph Campbell & the Power of Myth, I’m almost certain Dan Brown based his Robert Langdon on Campbells arguments. Other worthy viewings include Jacob Bronowskis The Ascent of Man (while it does not deal specifically with matters of faith or spirituality, but in many ways it was the program that started the genre), The Great Debate: Dr. Geivett v. Dr. Shermer, and I look forward to the release of Richard Dawkins The Root of All Evil? For something different, I recommend Penn & Teller’s Bullshit (3 seasons are currently out on DVD); nothing is sacred for P&T 😮

    Reply

  19. AyyA
    Oct 29, 2006 @ 16:01:40

    DA
    Thanks a million dude, I ordered all your recommendations except for Richard Dawkins’ new release which I will be checking next week inshallah. And I have come to learn that The Selfish Gene which I read several months back is also written by Richard, this guy is genius.
    And as for KTV, well, that’s the reason I stopped wasting my time with TV programs and I prefer reading and watching documentaries from uncensored sources.
    Btw; did you get my e-mail?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

