Ramadaniyat (VIII)

One of the commentators in my previous posts; a youth with liberal upbringing in Kuwait, living on her own abroad, questioned the use of pinpointing the deficiencies in religion. She believes that religion is something between man and God (and here I use masculine “man” only to indicate that I do not differentiate between the two genders, when I address one, I’m referring to both) and I couldn’t agree with her more.
This brought to mind my all time amazement at some Western women, who threw away their freedom and embraced Islam. It used to fascinate me. And I’m not talking about those who did it for social reasons; I’m talking about the ones who did it out of belief.
Islam can be a very spiritual retreat, that is true, and the western woman who lives in the lands of complete freedom to the point of chaos, may need such a spiritual fulfillment. Comparing the holy books before Islam and Quran; the verses in Quran are much more poetic and sentimental than that of the more like children fairytale styles of the ones before it. People are drawn to poetic verse, even if the stories remained the same and did not get to the level of adult thinking. Quran was written in Arabic Language, the language of feelings and abundance in romance. And at the same time does not deviate much from the religious environment she was brought up in. after all; Islam believes in all the prophets in the previous holy books.
What is the difference between this woman and another Moslem woman living in Islamic and Arabic states, and never seen the world outside?
The difference is that Western woman didn’t get the chance to feel the pinch that religion imposes on her in every aspect of her life, her social life is fully protected by State laws, her rights are granted, in other words; Islam is not interfering with her rights in the society, to her, embracing Islam is something that is completely voluntary and private. And here I’m talking about moderate Western Moslem women who are not forced into their religion and by no means that includes the extreme ones.
I wonder if State is separated from Mosque, although I don’t see how is this possible,
will true believers immerge? Would there be any chance to save Islam; at least spiritually?

On a separate issue;
This year’s first day of Ramadan coincided with Rosh Hashana; the beginning of the Days of Awe or the Days of Repentance, which marks the beginning of the Jewish Hebrew year. This Jewish holy occasion is much similar in spirit to Ramadan; in which the believers refrain from sin, and repent performing the rituals in ten days that end in Yom Kippur. On this final day; all the sins are written and removed for the true believers and so the Jew starts afresh his year with no sins. And Genie would be awakened and released from her bottle to grant the wishes of all believers ( my addition). Yom Kippur is much the same as Laylat Elqadr for Moslems where angles descend from heaven and bless the believer and remove his sins, in addition of granting him his wishes.
On one of the Jewish sites on the Net, the narrator talked about such a coincidence as “This year there is a war in the heavens over who will control the sound in the earth realm”

As if wars on earth are not enough, there will be wars in heaven!!! Ya far7atna

I wonder if after resurrection day when good Moslems meet good Jews in heaven, will they salute each other?

Have a great weekend

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Purgatory
    Oct 11, 2006 @ 16:34:09

    I think you need to travel, you are starting to crumble in Ramadan and it shows, go away before you die.

    Reply

  2. AyyA
    Oct 11, 2006 @ 16:38:19

    Purgy
    I think you are right, and for your information; I have two traveling plans that are coming soon 😉

    Reply

  3. NewMe
    Oct 11, 2006 @ 17:11:38

    i don’t think any party will make it to heaven!!

    in my opinion,, both all religious ppl are going directly to hell no question about it.. (including me)

    loooool

    guess we have to wait and find out 😉

    have a great day

    Reply

  4. ummel3yal
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 00:58:11

    Have you read about Ramtha’s teachings? I think you might like it. Take a look:

    http://ramtha.com/html/community/teachings/default.stm

    She was a major element in the “what the bleep do we know” documentary.

    Her theory is that God is each and everyone of us 🙂

    Reply

  5. bosale7
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 02:48:07

    اي والله يبيله سفرة

    يبيله ارتخاء فكري وعقلاني
    مقابله نزيد النشاط الجسدي
    يبيله 🙂

    Reply

  6. erzulie
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 05:01:33

    Lol @ bo9ale7…

    And I think I’d classify myself as a conservative who is a freethinker. Politically, I am liberal. But being labeled “liberal” in our society has moral (read:negative) connotations.

    You know what? I might have a post that asks, “What is your definition of “liberal” and “free” in a Kuwaiti context?” I’d love to see the replies. I’ll even take of my anonymous blocker off!

    I’m still looking for that Zen but I experience when I do something truly good 🙂 And it feels good!

    Reply

  7. MechanicalCrowds
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 06:02:29

    Are there any statistics that suggest Western women’s conversion to Islam is higher than other religions?

    Reply

  8. bosale7
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 13:42:24

    erzulie :

    go for it ….. am waiting 🙂

    Reply

  9. أبجديتي
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 14:33:54

    It’s sad to see Islam and Judaism meet on the calendar and not on ground…Shanah Tovah U’metukah 🙂

    Reply

  10. soud
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 14:49:40

    Have a great weekend

    Reply

  11. بالديسار
    Oct 12, 2006 @ 20:10:59

    I live in a THE Jewish area of the city. All my neighbors are Jewish. In fact our high street is dead on Saturdays. As a Muslim I’m suppose to ad3i allah enah yahlek al yahood. On the first day of Ramadan my next door neighbors ALL came with a cake to wish me happy Ramadan. I was speechless to be honest. I’m sure someone will come out and say “true but the majority of them hate us”. Well the majority of us hate them too, but we can only see with the eye of hate and we make sure the eye of love is to remain closed.

    Reply

  12. Geish@
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 03:58:10

    Dear Ayya,

    even though we have two different mind frames and I disagree with almost everything you said in this post. However, I’d like to remind you that phrophet Mohammad peace be upon him never allowed hurting peaceful Jews neither any human being. However, if you read the history you would realize why Jews have been hated over the centuries. With regard to having their ritual on the same day of ours, so what? It doesnt mean anything dear 🙂

    We don’t believe our sins will be scratched off if we behave in 10 days! not even in 10 years, that’s hypocracy. Decency is a way of life rather than a temporary act!

    Kind Regards,
    Geish@

    P.S. I once read somewhere that you question some of Sunna or the history of Islam and I came across this site which I want to share with you 🙂

    http://www.islamway.com/mohammad

    Reply

  13. white wings
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 13:17:51

    religion is a private state between God and believer, nevertheless, it is an ideology, a way of life, as many like to describe it, thus it is necessary to question and discuss it
    new comers to Islam function on different level as you mentioned, this couldn’t be more true
    and your final question bewildered me 🙂 if you ever find out, let me know
    I am greatly enjoying your last few posts, bery interesting and bold, but isn’t it time for a new poem? 🙂

    Reply

  14. AyyA
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 14:07:25

    NewMe
    I assume that many had placed me in hell already LOL

    Ummel3yal
    I have seen “What the Bleep do we know”, and also tried Ramtha’s “Create your Day”, not because I have total belief in the theory, but just to satisfy my curiosity, and I believe that Ramtha has a point, and to me she makes a lot of sense, but still; it stays a theory until proven.

    Bosale7
    Walla for me I need a long vacation, something like a mind spa cleansing my mind of all the toxics that have been stuck to it over years. Bas elmoskilla ina mako fayda, as they say “marad elchalab (wint b7asheema) 3ala elgasab 😉

    Erzulie
    You know; you reminded me of a friend whom once I addressed in front of her and others that she’s a freethinker. This was supposed to be a compliment from my side; she took it as an offence. In a nutshell; it all depends on how you interpret things 😉

    MC
    Not that I know of!!!

    Abjadiyati
    True, and same to you 😀

    Soud
    Same to you sweetie

    Baldi
    During the invasion I was all alone in London suburbs with two toddlers (twin), and a husband that left in the morning and appeared at night. I had an old Jewish neighbor that was at my door step every day helping me with them and the household chores. At one time I got very sick, and she was the one who took me to emergency room and pampered me and my toddlers until I regained my health. I learned to value people by their deeds and not religion.

    Geisha
    If Jews God is Moslem God, then a holy day of that God in either religion should be respected and should unite both despite the differences, but apparently this is not happening.
    As per the history you were referring to; I have heard and read these fables to the point of memorizing them by heart.
    Idols are figures, mediators through which man connected to God or Gods. They were not Gods and they were not worshiped as these stories want us to believe, and most of the Gods in ancient times were connected to nature like the stars, moon, sun and so fourth, idols do not only take the shape of clay that man molds with his hand, it could take a shape of a building to which pilgrimage is performed for the sake of getting closer to God. It also could be a person whom one could glorify and coat with sacredness and eventually create a mediator to God. And in that respect; prophets can also be seen as idols.
    Now where is history in that?
    What does excavation say? Man and writing go back to cave ages, how come there are no mention of these stories outside of religious books? Or the ones referenced to religious books.
    If you were to do a research for a school project; would you take all your references from one book? Now how reliable would your research be if you do that? After all; a book only portrays the opinion of its writer.

    WW
    LOL sweetie, I guess Ramadan atmosphere is not giving me enough inspiration to compose a poem. But come to think of it, it would really be a good retreat 😉

    Reply

  15. q80_demon
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 18:15:53

    AyyA:
    “What does excavation say? Man and writing go back to cave ages, how come there are no mention of these stories outside of religious books? Or the ones referenced to religious books.”

    For a light late-Ramadhan reading may I suggest the following:
    The Bible Unearthed: Archaeology’s New Vision of Ancient Israel and the Origin of Its Sacred Texts; by: Israel Finkelstein and Neil Silberman

    Quick summary: the early Patriarchs, the Exodus, the hebrew conquest of Cannan, the dual monarchy of David & Solomon, among other biblical anecdotes are nothing but myths from the historical perspective. These stories are narrated and revered by all Abrahamic faiths.

    For another series of highly speculative books, may I suggest the writings of Ahmed Osman

    Reply

  16. AyyA
    Oct 14, 2006 @ 00:44:30

    DA
    Albert Einstein said “It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education”…. So who could blame these generations with our type of education?
    As for the books; “ The Bible Unearthed” is on my list of next read, I just started “The God Delusion” which I got two days back from Amazon. I’m reading it with the bible now, such a divergence hah? LOL
    I also read “Moses and Akhenaton”
    Thanks sweetie, I trust your taste in books, and would appreciate more lists.

    Reply

  17. tantalize
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 00:48:31

    And I wonder what religion would exist once Jews and Muslims supposedly head into ‘heaven!’ None. Because there wouldn’t much more to believe in then. It’s like reaching success, but then not knowing/caring to do anything further with it. That’s where religion pauses and lacks intricate follow through.

    Both religions are man-made. Literally. And women are always second citizens to all three monotheistic religions where male prophets have streamlined male teachings onto women as power control. That’s the sad truth and women are not only the oppressed but also the desensitized.

    What do you think would happen if we lived in a woman-made world? ;^)

    Reply

  18. AyyA
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 02:09:02

    I assume you meant woman-made word that stems out of religious beliefs. Let’s see; one female Goddess, woman prophets, angles (men ;)), qulman mokhaladoon (young women!!!), 7oor el3ain (men ;)), can have four husbands and endless concubines, have full control over family, support the family financially as per my liking and not per their needs.
    Hmmmmm, I’ll stop here, or else I’d find myself embracing such religion 😀
    You see, we are created side by side to love each other, flourish earth, and build a civilization, not to control.

    Reply

  19. Intlxpatr
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 06:15:43

    Ayya says: I wonder if after resurrection day when good Moslems meet good Jews in heaven, will they salute each other?

    Don’t you imagine we will all wonder why on earth we wasted all that time hating one another? All these petty issues of dogma (which we disagree on INTERNALLY as well as inter-faith) will insh’allah disappear, and we will all see the big picture, see with God’s heart and God’s eyes.

    Very thought provoking posts, Ayya.

    Reply

  20. AyyA
    Oct 16, 2006 @ 13:07:39

    intlxpatr
    Thanks for the invaluable insight sweetie, the thing is, hate just breeds more hate, and so long each is convinced of his way to be the right way and all the others are wrong, no one will be able to see through God’s eyes or God’s heart. I think religion lost the essence of God in the chaos of its rituals and the strives for dominance. I believe that heaven and hell are just a state of mind, and a mind that is accustomed to hate and prejudice will always stay in hell, whether now or after death, that’s if there is an afterlife.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

