Change is Refreshing

September to me was the month of drastic changes;

The first change  was to transfer from my IBM ThinkPad to 17 inch Apple MacBook Pro, I got this laptop back in May through the Net, but being blank-headed in Apple technology on one hand, and busy with the orange movement on the other (excuses, excuses), I did not try to use it properly, or may be I was too scared of change, so it lay down as a nice accessory in my bedroom, using it once and a while to watch my DVD’s in bed with it’s cute little remote control. But that made me feel guilty, I had to make time and gather courage. But when I finally did at the beginning of this month, I ran into different problems when I tried to connect to the Net.
I thought at the beginning that the problem was with my novice trials to use the Mac (which was true in a way). But Mac is very prompt in providing step-by-step directions of use as if aiding a blind. So I resigned to the fact that I’m not a Mac person and went ahead and loaded 30% of the Mac memory with Windows XP operating system. But that was a stupid move, why did I pay so much for Mac if I wasn’t going to use its facilities.
 Anyway; I realized that the problem was neither with Mac instructions nor the Net, but rather with my left brain cells that were hooked to Windows. And now that I released myself from my addiction to Windows, I find Mac to be much easier to deal with than I thought, and even friendlier than IBM and its windows. The resolution is superb and it feels like a jump from earth to the Milky Way galaxy.
All I need to do now is to uninstall windows since it’s slowing down process operations, install Microsoft office since the one I have is only a trial version, and engrave the keyboard with Arabic letters and I’ll be set and ready for a complete transformation.
And boy I’m loving my new toy 😀

The second change was the host of my blog. Blogspot has many limitations, and if you are an ambitious freak like me, wanting to work around your template, making constant changes here and there when your HTML IQ is equivalent to almost zilch, then forget it. You either learn HTML which I’m too rusted to do, or just depend on others to make the changes and I hate to do that.
But when the beta version of blogspot came out with loads of promises, I thought; ah.. now I can solve all my problems, especially with categorization which I needed the most. And like diving in the sea blindfolded, I jumped into it without hesitation, only to find out that beta is still at a testing stage and its problems are immense.

بس بعد شنو, بعد خراب بغداد!!!

My frustration with beta amounted to a point that I decided to discard the whole blog all together and switch to WordPress (call me a traitor if you may) since it does not require being a nerd in HTML, and more suitable for “ Blogging for Dummies” like me. Why take the hard route in life if you have the option for an easier way out?
Easy way out?????

هوه دخول الحمام زي خروجه!!!

First WordPress does not have the facility to import my files that were transferred to beta version, at least not yet, although they promised to add it soon. Second; blogspot is a selfish, nasty kid that only recognizes other bloggers that are registered in its domain, and unless other blogspot bloggers enable options like “other” or “anonymous” I won’t be able to comment on their blogs easily. So you can imagine the hassle I go through trying to post a comment on your blogs; I have to sign in, sign out then again sign in and sign out just to be able to leave a lousy comment on each and every blog I visit!
SO THE LEAST YOU CAN DO YOU BLOGSPOT GEEKS IS TO ENABLE THE OPTION “OTHER” ON YOUR BLOGS SO THAT PEOPLE LIKE ME CAN FEEL MORE WELCOME IN YOUR PREMISES, THAT’S IF YOU CARE FOR ME TO VISIT YOU  😛

Then the third change was my mobile; I have been a Nokia person for as long as I can remember, and if you know me, you would know how attached I am to my old stuff. I have used this mobile till it gave up on me and started having a mind of its own, when it’s in the mood; it would ring when someone calls, and send all messages simultaneously. And when it’s not; it just lists missed calls and late massages.
My dad knew that it would take a miracle for me to change my mobile, so he decided to do that miracle and got me Sony Ericsson (K800). The first thing that attracted me to this mobile and did the trick was the digital camera facilities it provides, and it tempted me like a magnet. The temptation was harder to resist even if that meant throwing away my dear old beloved Nokia.
Now I have to do some learning and readjusting to a new system altogether 😦

Will there be more changes?
Well, September is not over yet, and if there is, then I will throw the old me to the sea and embrace the wind of change, for nothing is more refreshing than the rejuvenating change. 

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. purgatory72
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 20:20:13

    Yeah I hve an idea for a 4th change but will tell you about it later

    Reply

  2. Fuzzy
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 20:24:39

    3 major changes hehehe !!

    -Apple is nice for grapgic designers/architects and some bloggers hehe
    – blogspot BETA means Try at your own Risk 🙂 the same goes for any BETA product
    – S.E mobiles are nice, the new ones come actually with a Sony Camera ! i use Nokia E61 Business mobile, and it has no Camera fakkah, but it has the nicest web browser, generous battery life, and full keyboard 🙂 just in case you miss Nokia again hehe

    Cheers 🙂

    Reply

  3. bosale7
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 21:59:42

    تغييرات مثيرة في اقل من شهر ….
    بانتظار اكتمال الشهر لعمل الجرد 🙂
    فوزي ..عندي نفس الجهاز وملوع جبدي …والقهر انه سعره كل يوم بالنازل
    ناوي احول على سوني اريكسون …شرايك ؟

    Reply

  4. Mini Я.
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 22:21:53

    and why didn’t you contact your fave mac person (me of course) when you needed tutoring? 😛

    nokia’s suck.

    i thought u were a geek like me? 😉

    i’m a cute geek of course.

    oh and HI! my 1st comment in MONTHS for ANYONE’s BLOG…& you’re the 1st!

    Reply

  5. q80_demon
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 22:32:54

    Cool! Another convert to the Mac platform. Congratulation on your wise choice, and from now on you’ll see what kind of fanatics we really are 😀

    Oh, and I’ve always avoided Nokia – Moto & SE o-bass!

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 23:09:41

    Purgy
    And why not now? You know how much I hate waiting

    Fuzzy
    I’m interested in photography, and that’s the reason I decided to switch to Mac. And about blogspot beta; thanks for the warning dude but it came a bit too late :p
    And you don’t have to rub it in; I already miss my Nokia 😦

    Bosale7
    Now that makes me feel better 🙂

    Ah Mini inverted R,
    I’m flattered to be your first comeback station, and I didn’t know that you’re a Mac expert, mind you I still need a lot of adjusting to do, so be prepared to see me often, ra7 alawi3 chabdik :p
    I’m also a cute geek like you, but of a different kind 😉

    DA
    I already feel that every fils I put in this machine was well worth it, I’m just in love with it.
    It feels like space age and I can’t wait to transfer completely 😀

    Reply

  7. jewaira
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 23:28:44

    I don’t seem to have any problems commenting on Blogger blogs for some reason although I have to sign in to my Google account.

    Reply

  8. purgatory72
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 23:30:53

    I have to think about it a bit more and consult the demons

    Reply

  9. NewMe
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 23:31:31

    Congratulations on all Sep changes

    I gave up windows 3 years ago and I don’t regret it at ALL
    Love my PowerBook it is more like a twin sister

    Hummmm nokia had only one hated it
    I have been switching from a brand to other now I have Motorola
    Loves IT

    As for blogging, so far hocked to blogger will not switch to beta not just yet

    Change as much as you can there is always something new worth learning
    Best of luck 🙂

    Reply

  10. AyyA
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 00:13:42

    Lady J
    That’s because you were smart enough not to switch to beta 😀
    By the way; I’m still not able to get into your blog, I called Fasttelco and gave them hell today and they promised to fix it soon.

    NewMe
    That was a hell of learning in less than a month LOL
    Btw; I tried to make the fonts bigger and the whole post got messed up, sorry sweetie, this is the best I could do for now until I get used to wordpress :p

    Reply

  11. Jackie
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 01:20:15

    And so my dearest Ayya joins the Mac Bandwagon ;P Hehehe Welcome to the Light Side honey 😉

    Mac does have its ups and more ups, there might be a few bits of downs but you’ll love it nonetheless, and feel free to ask any questions of me or Mini R as he suggested, I’ll be glad to help.

    As for the rest of the changes, wordpress is better than Blogger in many ways and I have been a faithful user for a year now and I am loving it, I believe I am starting my second wordpress year but I also have a year of blogger underneath my belt ;P

    Sony Ericsson, K800, it’s tempting what with the commercials I see to switch to it but I am in love with flip phones and I can’t give up the joy of slamming the flap shut when I am angry hehe ;P So I will stay with my N90 a bit longer who knows how long though 😛

    Again it’s been a long time since I commented here but I had to comment on your changes wishing you more better changes 🙂

    Reply

  12. NewMe
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 01:46:22

    it is alright (command +) worked like a charm 🙂
    keep up the good work

    Reply

  13. AyyA
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 02:10:33

    Purgy
    I will send you those demons while you’re asleep :p

    Jackos
    Welcome aboard sweetie, yes it’s been quite a long time, and how did I forget about our blogger geek number one? Kicking myself
    Sure you will be with Mini on my list of Technical Support, and thanks for the offer, you’ve always been generous :*

    NewMe
    Boy, that was a relief, now I have to find out how to enlarge the fonts on the comment part.

    Reply

  14. purgatory72
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 13:39:53

    hmm, will they be same as the one you sent before ;)?

    Reply

  15. AyyA
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 14:35:59

    Sure, but not during day naps :p

    Reply

  16. بالديسار
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 16:22:54

    Your average is one change every 7-8 days. So you are allowed one more change before the end of September. Make it a big one friend

    Reply

  17. AyyA
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 17:56:42

    Allah yisna3 minik, I feel like a big change is coming, but I still have no idea what it is 🙂

    Reply

  18. q80_demon
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 21:40:49

    What happened to the laughing yugi post? I just went to get something from the fridge and sat down to post a comment, and pooft, it was gone!

    Reply

  19. shopa
    Sep 25, 2006 @ 22:10:18

    I switched to Mac last year, Got rid of NOKIA forever this year, I wonder if I’ll switch from blogspot soon!!!

    Reply

  20. AyyA
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 00:11:27

    DA
    I was trying to load the video here but couldn’t, something went wrong and I don’t know what it is, then I lost the Net LOL
    You can post your comment now 😀

    Reply

  21. AyyA
    Sep 26, 2006 @ 00:17:01

    Shopa
    Hmmm another Mac geek LOL
    I wish I could say that wordpress is better, but each has it’s advantages and disadvantages, but in general wordpress is much better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

