3amal khair oreda bihi ba6el

Yesterday, I read this article that really disturbed me in Algabas, it was published on the first page under the title:

لجنة العمل الخيري: إزالة مظاهر التبرع غير المرخصة و منع صرف اللإستحقاقات دون ختم
Translation; The charity committee: removing the charity ads that are not registered and forbidding pay slips without the official seal. (I hope my translation is fair enough)
In brief the article stated that a committee consisting of six ministries ( Shouoon, Interior ministry, media ministry, Commerce ministry, Municipal ministry, and Awgaf) have approved the activities of a plan to control donations during the month of Ramadan, and that accordingly working teams in each ministry is formed, each to his specialty, to implement the plan which starts at the beginning of the month of Ramadan and ends after Ead.

And as I read further I learned that the goal of this plan although was not stated clearly, was to fight terrorism. This was implied by the statement made by Mr Alwigayan; the head of the committee who stressed that the goal of this plan is to ban any donations collected by illegal sources that he described as the ones that enter the country on commercial visas and send the money to UNKNOWN SOURCES OUTSIDE OF KUWAIT.

Well chances are, Mr. Wigayan, that 50% of these donations you are banning is going to the real needy, but nevertheless; a good move concerning the other dangerous fifty percent, but what is the consequence of your action?

Channeling more money to legalized sources; that here I’d like to refer to as the monster.
If you are serious about fighting terrorism and want to do your homework right, draw a long term plan of action to fight the monster; chop the base of terrorism, do not kill the sheep to feed and empower the monster.
Your plan sounds great only you have to alter it to include the head, monitor his assets, control his cash flow and audit its final destination, mo bas gadereen 3ala lisgar.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mishari26
    Oct 01, 2005 @ 08:47:00

    Thank you AyyA,

    I agree with you 100%. Also, I’m not sure what is meant by “banning donations”. Who could stop anyone from sending anyone else money? The discrete few who wish to remain anonymous and engage in militarized activities are the exception, NOT the norm! The norm is people sending money to people in crisis. Alot of the independents who wish to get the money to hungry places do it on their own simply to avoid redtape and bureaucracy, collecting some money from relatives and going abroad themselves to see that it achieves the desired effect. So now that is illegal?

    Its hard enough that people overcome their greed and decide to give, but seeing others come in and try to stop it just because 3amamna the americans told us so. Makes me seethe with anger. Its like we’re not in control of our own lives anymore, we’re rich and pampered slaves. I disgust myself.

    Reply

  2. shosho
    Oct 01, 2005 @ 21:50:00

    I only donate to people I know personally, I simply do not trust any of charities in kuwait.

    Sad but shasawee, I don’t wish to be one of the reasons behind other people’s misery simply because I didn’t donate wisely 😦

    Reply

  3. AyyA
    Oct 02, 2005 @ 10:44:00

    Mishari & Shosho
    What about Zakat money, does everyone know where is his money going especially now that Zakat elfitr is due? I personally don’t pay Zakat, but my dad is still paying for me to a mosque although I’m against it, and like you Shosho, I have to know where is my money going, and I think you are doing the right thing.

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Oct 02, 2005 @ 16:13:00

    To elaborate more;
    Percentage of Moslem population in Kuwait is 89% with a total number of 1,735,542 according to this, and if we assume (in the worst case) that 50% percent of those are paying Zakat, and as I recall, the amount of Zakat elfitr is one KD/head (correct me if I’m wrong), then that would be 867,771 KD at least paid and collected in one day; that’s almost a million KD.
    Now where is this money going to?
    An interesting article was written in Algabas today regarding the same subject, check this

    Reply

  5. mishari26
    Oct 02, 2005 @ 20:41:00

    Ayya,

    I’m a muslim and I believe we should pay zakat. To whom? to whoever I trust will deliver it to the needy. Who do I trust? il7amdella there’s plenty of good people in Kuwait running charities and are quite transparent about it. Anyone might disagree with me and proclaim them all money-grubbing-thieves with beards. I dont. Lots of people I know actually use the money they collect from relatives who trust them to buy sacks of rice and other food basics and go to areas in Kuwait to needy indians with kids and the like.

    This subject is so hot and charged with so many issues.

    Why do we distrust people so easily? our minds are being transformed and preprogrammed to like/dislike archetypes, not the actual persons. No history is needed. A few incidents and a few immoral people are enough to provide us with the ammunition we need to gun down whole legions of “bearded men” and “niqab women”. So easy for us to generalize. Don’t we try to examine ourselves as to why its so easy for us to attack? Are those people so alien to us? Kuwait is so small its extremely easy to know the whole background and history of each person working on a certain fund or charity. They’re all from families we know and are usually related to one way or another. If they’re so untrustworthy it will show, provided people are still vigilent and still interested in the well-being of the charity system as a whole. Which I believe all of us are.

    Cheer up will you? this city is still teeming with good people. They’re not even rare or hard to find. Easy with the baseless paranoia already. Hungry people are waiting for help while we slander each other.

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Oct 03, 2005 @ 07:00:00

    Mishari
    Well, this is the whole point, if you know where is your money going and you trust that it would be delivered to the needy then you’ve got it made.
    Kuwait is full of good hearted people who are also emotional when it comes to helping the poor and I’m very proud to say that, but our emotions should not blind us from the fact that some, not all, would use that money for other channels than what it’s meant for. We just have to be more cautious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

