3ajabi !

I’m so pissed off; I can’t believe that while we are priding ourselves for having a women minister, our laws and regulations still consider women as a second degree citizen.
Today I went to one of the service centers to renew my passport, I had to wait for an hour and then they informed me that I had to have a male guardian present; either a husband of father or brother, when I tried to protest, they told me it’s the law, and by law a Kuwaiti woman can’t travel without the permission of her male guardian.

At 16 I have gone across the seas all on my own and now at my age I need a male guardian to renew my passport? I mean WTF

I wonder when Dr. Almobark issues a ministerial decree; would she need to have her husband as a cosigner?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bo Jaij
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 15:53:00

    decades of bullshit cant be fixed in a week or so :]

    Reply

  2. Shopaholic Q8eya
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 16:16:00

    This is just BS, they did that to me when I went to renew my passport last year. I shouted “I am over 21, lived by myself since I was 17 and know my rights in this country”.

    Then, the stupid lady (who was Monaqaba) agreed to renew my passport. I wanted to check if it was true but didn’t really get the chance to look it up. I am pretty sure if you are not 21, then the father has to do it even if you don’t live with him.

    Reply

  3. Jewaira
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 16:21:00

    We have a long way to go yet, Ruby. I’m sorry you had to go through that. So frustrating that simple things can’t be done more efficiently.

    Reply

  4. AyyA
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 17:35:00

    Bo jaij
    Apparently it’s getting worse.

    ShQ8eya
    The lady at the desk tried to help but apparently couldn’t, then my brother talked to a high official whom later apologized that they could not do anything about it, he said that last year a lawyer had submitted a case against some officials who had renewed his wife’s passport and that she had traveled against his wish, and that they have strict orders not to repeat the same. So I’m assuming that a law like this does exist in Kuwait. And when I asked him: then how come women travel alone without being asked for the so called permission, he said that the passport controllers at the border have the authority to stop any women from traveling if they asked her for the permission and she did not present it, but they usually don’t do that

    Jewaira
    Although I do not believe in this as a principle; I had to ask my male guardian to go tomorrow to pick my renewed passport, and mind you, my presence they said was not necessary although it’s my passport. . I really can’t believe this.

    Reply

  5. Ms.Baker
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 17:38:00

    What if you have no father, no brother, no husband? Then what is a Kuwaiti woman to do?
    We have some pressing fundamental problems that need to be addressed now with women in parliament.
    I hope some of these issues will be paramount on a female representatives agenda.

    Also: What about the children of women married to non-Kuwaitis? I have a few friends whose mothers were Kuwaitis married to non-Kuwaitis. They spent their whole lives – and still do – with completely inadequate rights and inequal opportunities ( that most full Kuwaitis take for granted). The sad thing is that they love Kuwait, are very loyal to it and refuse to live anywhere else. But yet they have the same status as a non-Kuwaiti and have to go through the same rigamarole.

    Lots of housekeeping we need to do, don’t we?

    Reply

  6. forzaq8
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 18:38:00

    hmm thats strange , i have never heard of things like that , i do know you need guardian if you are under 21

    and that permission thing is also new , how can they check if its offical or not ? in saudi arabia ( which has that system for boys under 18 and women of all ages ) there is an offical papar that fahter have to get from the MOI

    but we don’t have anything like it in kuwait ( as i know )

    Reply

  7. forzaq8
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 18:39:00

    oh yeah i forgot , the husbad can ask for a 24 hour travel ban , anymore and it a case at court

    Reply

  8. Rawand
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 19:15:00

    I renewed my passport a couple of months ago. They only asked if I was married. They didn’t ask me any thing else, and since I was not they renewed it.

    That makes me wonder for, if such law exists, why would they ask one person for her male guardian’s (who ever he is) permition, and only ask the other for her husband’s permition?

    Any way; If there were such a law, then it is a direct contradiction with articles 29, 30, and 31 of the constitution of the state of Kuwait.

    So, any one care to take this fight seriously ladies??

    Reply

  9. AyyA
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 20:15:00

    Guys,
    I just had a discussion with a friend who is a lawyer and he told me that this guy is bluffing, I needed my husbands presence only because his name is still on my passport, and according to the law I’m still under his custody and he has to sign an approval for the renewal, and that no one has the right to stop me from traveling so long that my name is not listed on their computer which also has to be issued by court. In other words my husband can stop me from leaving the country only by court, and I still don’t think that this is fair. As a citizen I have the right to renew my passport whether my husband approves or doesn’t and I also have the right to travel so long I’m not held for a serious case. In any case, what happens between families has nothing to do with my rights as a citizen.

    Reply

  10. Bo Jaij
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 20:58:00

    Other than Mneera 3ashoor’s make up..is there anything right in this country?

    Disgusting…why in the hell do they even put the name of the husband on the passport in the first place?!

    Is that the proof of purchase?!!

    Reply

  11. nazzal
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 21:04:00

    damn them .. damn them .. damn them for what they put people through .

    human is naturally territorial , gets attached to where he/she is born and to where he/she lives , normally its piece of land .

    what about loyalty ?? but loyalty to what ??
    a country ! what’s a country ?
    a government who rules by law , people and land … well i have no loyalty to the first two . then that makes me un loyal , i guess … and so be it .

    Reply

  12. Shopaholic Q8eya
    Jun 20, 2005 @ 23:27:00

    This subject always made me mad. Why should a woman get a permission to leave the country from her husband? I am sorry but I just don’t understand it. They say it is a free country yet a Kuwaiti citizen can not leave the country because she is a woman. That’s why we needed our political rights. Now women will be able to voice those issues and gain better civil rights.

    Reply

  13. DJ
    Jun 21, 2005 @ 03:42:00

    You have every right to be frustrated and angry, but I do hope people (men and women alike) are making strides toward a better future and more independence for women in your country. I know I can not understand all that you go through, as I have not been there myself…but I can assure you that 20 or 30 years ago this was also somewhat true in the U.S. I remember in the 70’s that my mother had trouble taking care of financial matters without my father’s “concent.” It seems very backward now, but for people like my mother it was a frustration and a problem! Also…your last question is obviously a very good one…

    Reply

  14. Zaydoun
    Jun 21, 2005 @ 08:51:00

    Wooohooo!!! Ruby is in Al-Qabas this morning!!

    Bu Rakan just quoted this post!

    Reply

  15. Shurouq
    Jun 21, 2005 @ 10:34:00

    I’m just her to double Zaydoun’s WooHoo..
    Just read the paper 😀

    And this passport thing is frustrating, but not surprising.

    Isn’t it also true that a divorcee must have her ex-husband’s name on her passport?

    Reply

  16. Ms.Baker
    Jun 21, 2005 @ 15:40:00

    Shurouq – what if a divorcee remarries, then which husband goes on her passport?? Do both have to be listed???

    For Gods sake this is insane, isn’t it.

    Reply

  17. Ms.Baker
    Jun 21, 2005 @ 15:41:00

    …And ya intay ya Ruby 🙂 Way to go on the quote!

    Reply

  18. bora bora
    Jun 22, 2005 @ 08:12:00

    Msbaker

    Answering your question to shurouq, YES ! both !

    Reply

  19. Jewaira
    Jun 22, 2005 @ 11:10:00

    BoraBora
    You can’t be serious! That is the ultimate form of humiliation 😦

    Reply

  20. Shopaholic Q8eya
    Jun 22, 2005 @ 13:53:00

    Why would they put the Ex-husband name on the passport? I don’t think they do that.

    Reply

  21. bora bora
    Jun 22, 2005 @ 14:06:00

    jewaira

    Sorry for the wrong info, my friend used to complain about that.
    I double checked, she says the woman can ask for her ex-husband’s name to be removed from her passport.

    Appologies :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

