A Perfect Tulip

Thought of today:

To taste the sweetness of life, you must have the power to forget the past

On my last Valentine’s you gave me a perfect tulip

Why one?

It symbolized my uniqueness as you had paraded

I saved it between the sheets of the ” Best Love Poems” book.

I also saved a picture of you passionately kissing the tulip’s bulb,

In just few pages behind.

Do you remember the day I ran into you in the last party I attended?

Do you remember your shock when I entered the hotel foyer?

When you were lost for words to explain the tall blond model that was clinging to you?

Do you remember my yellow smile?

Anger and rage engulfed me, but I smiled

And later on, at the privacy of my night, I cried.

Don’t be surprised

Yes, I do cry at night.

I leafed my book to see you,

Or, shall I say, to feel my uniqueness

I wanted to see my superiority

I wanted to believe your lies

I opened my book the other day

And there you were, my Valentine;

Worn out, faded, with a fake shine

that seemed ages behind

The tulip had dried, but didn’t wither

The new color added rays from the sun

the only thing you didn’t lie about;

the tulip can proudly withstand time.

Now I know how unique I am.

To all who are Celebrating Valintine’s day alone I dedicate this:

Since you don’t have a Valentine
and I have long lost mine
Come dear let’s drink to that
a chalice of red wine

Posted by Hello

A Lone Tulip by: Joy C Fender
15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Purgatory
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 03:59:00

    So much for “dump her” 😛

    Reply

  2. Jewaira
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 09:43:00

    Strong woman. And unique 🙂 She should throw it all behind her.

    Reply

  3. AyyA
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 14:54:00

    Purg
    In this case, dump him 🙂

    Jewaira
    Yes that is the real strength

    Reply

  4. nazzal
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 14:55:00

    liked the blog

    yet why always their are more of sad stories than
    happy ones ?!! and even those , rarly last ………..
    shouldnt it be time for humanity to find new
    formula for relations ?!!
    so we may read a chearful long lasting stories !!

    Reply

  5. DJ
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 17:36:00

    Sad poem, but they can’t always be happy ones can they?! The dedication is simple but profound.

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 18:49:00

    Nazal
    We hear more sad stories because we devote time to express them. The situation changes with happy stories because we dedicate more time to live them. And if you find this formula, please enlighten me, “ taksib feeni ajir” coz obviously I need that 🙂

    DJ
    I’d leave the happy ones for you, how about that? 🙂
    thanx sweetie

    everyone
    cheerz

    Reply

  7. Shurouq
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 21:15:00

    Lovely, Rabab
    I’m learning to appreciate my loneliness.
    And it’s hard work 🙂

    Happy Valentine, everyone

    Reply

  8. Jelly Belly
    Feb 07, 2005 @ 09:51:00

    that was beautiful Rabab…in a way it reminded me of
    Fayroz song Bektob esmak in the part where she says “wehdetni warda ferjayta le9a7abee…khabyatha bektabee..zar3atha 3al mekhada..ehditik mazaharya..la kint edareeha wala te3teni feeha…fa da3at lehdeya”

    I raise my glass of wine to you…cheers babe :*

    Reply

  9. ولاّدة
    Feb 07, 2005 @ 11:19:00

    عيد الحب… على الرغم مما يجلبه من سعادة للعشاق حيث يخطط كل منهما لمفاجأة الآخر …إلا أنه يجلب للبعض ذكريات…فهناك من يتألم لحبيب كان معنا في العيد الماضي واليوم هو مع أخرى

    وهناك من يقارن حالة الحب التي عاشها مع الشخص ذاته قبل عدة سنوات وكيف أنطفأ هذا الحب…يقارن حماسه السابق في الأعياد السابقة وكيف فتر حتى أنه لا يود أن يرسل بطاقة أو زهرة إلا إلا من منطلق إتقاء شر الآخر

    وتبقى حقيقة
    لنحتفل يا أصدقائي بعيد الحب…ذلك الساحر الجميل الذي يخرج من قبعته أرانب الدهشة والفرح…سواء كان هذا الساحر معنا أو أنه رحل…لنحتفل أنه في يوم من الأيام زارنا

    Reply

  10. AyyA
    Feb 07, 2005 @ 16:35:00

    Shurouq
    Thanks dear, I think there is a great strength in apriciating one’s lonliness. You know sometimes I feel it’s better this way, away from all the headaches, having my own privacy, having my own peace of mind. But at times I miss having a caring heart, a genuine hellow, you know what I mean?
    Casik 🙂

    Jelly Belly
    Yeh that does sound like Fayrooz’s song, doesn’t it? I guess we all have some of Fairooz inside, with her pure love and inocence, as well as vulnrability. Or the Fatin 7amama love style. Too bad life is not like that. One of my close friends told me sometime back that I should have been born in the mediavel times because the love I’m seeking does not exist in this century. But after starting this blog I came to realize that I’m not alone. Cheerse sweetie, and may you find what I have given up seeking.

    Wallad, wallada, wallada
    Oh how you can make me shiver with your words, they’re magic.
    Like a cool breeze in the harsh summer month of July.
    Yes we should be thankfull:
    for once we had a chance to experience the chaotic heart beat.
    For the sanity that once broke it’s boundaries,
    for the toung that once lost words in awe, amidst the passion flow.
    for the moment of intimacy,
    and for the aftermath of consistant tranquility

    as I write this I relive every moment of it’s sweetness,

    yakhti el7ob 7ilo.
    Let’s drink to that

    Reply

  11. Peach
    Feb 07, 2005 @ 22:18:00

    First it was sweet ..
    Then it turned sad ..
    And in the end ..
    It wasn’t sad at all 😉
    I raise a hypothetical glass of wine with Belly for a Unique, Time withstanding Woman 😉

    Reply

  12. AyyA
    Feb 08, 2005 @ 00:26:00

    Thanks peachy
    That was so sweet
    Cheers

    Reply

  13. Q8's Biggest Loser
    Feb 08, 2005 @ 02:39:00

    beautiful… love lost is hard at first but once the pain is gone there is still so much good left…. your poem reminded me of that 🙂 and i raise my merlot to you for that:)

    Reply

  14. Eva
    Feb 08, 2005 @ 05:02:00

    every valentine , i get some sweet gifts from my friends , but never recived any from a LOVER , coz i don’t have one yet . but i remember that faaar cousin ( who loved me and still do , bas ana mako msha3ir etejaha;p ) told me that he wana give me something on the valentine , i didn’t accept it 😡 , later i found that the gift turened to his mother :p , keep it or do something else mo t36eha 7ag ur mother ;p

    Rabab Wish You a GReat valentine day :*

    and

    http://www.fabulousfoods.com/holidays/vday/vdayimg/vpops.jpg

    Every one take’s ” ONE ” LoliPop ;p

    Reply

  15. AyyA
    Feb 08, 2005 @ 10:47:00

    Q8’s Biggest Loser
    Welcome dear to my humble quarters and thank you
    And although the risk is too great when it comes to pain, but it’s worth it. And here I can’t afford the merlot,
    So make the best of it while you can 😉
    But I’ll drink the homemade wine
    For a prosperous Valentine
    May yours be better than mine
    Ching Ching

    Eva
    Ah…. Lolipop, lolipop, I’ll take the chocalate one before you change your mind and give it to your mom. LOL
    Welcome dear and may you have a greater Valentine 🙂
    Cheerse

    Reply

Leave a Reply

