Kuwait Invasion

thought of the day:

some people think a lot and speak a lot but back down at the time of doing

My mobile woke me up this morning, and my best friend was on the other line saying: “inti nayma lail 7een we dinya ma3foosa bara? shofay shino sayer be Salmiya, gatel we imthaba7…..” Translated (not literally) to English:” are you still asleep? The country is in a chaos, shooting and killing in Salmiya…..”.

My heart sank, and a horrible feeling of a distant past downed on me. When at five AM my sister in law called and woke me up on the mournful day of Aug.2,1990 , the day Sadam’s crusaders invaded my country. This phone call destroyed my whole day. I kept remembering the days when the Iraqi solders were camping along our borders and we took their move so lightly. And then he took us by surprise, killing our loved ones and scattering us like cockroaches when you turn on the light..

Is history repeating itself in another form of Sadam? Is it our fate to have our destructive enemy right from within this time? Would I wake up one day with a phone call informing me that the civil war has started in Kuwait? Are we taking these incidents very lightly at the time being? And what can we do to prevent it? What can I do to prevent it? What if the country turned into another Iran or Saudi Arabia? Where would we go? How would we live? Om el Haiman, Abdallah Elsalim, Khaitan, Salmitah, where is next? who is next?Does anyone have any answer to these questions?

All what I can say is; you damn &^%$ terrorists, get out of my country, go back to Saudi Arabia or Egypt or wherever hell you belong, I need my peace of mind, I demand my security. I yearn for my peaceful Kuwait.( big sigh)

Posted by Hello

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beatnik
    Jan 30, 2005 @ 21:30:00

    Rabab honey the atakers where Kuwaities. they are the muslim extrimist who want America out.
    Rabaaaaab za3altini minik

    Reply

  2. UzF
    Jan 30, 2005 @ 22:50:00

    no real kuwaiti will do this to their land. it won’t be ok again until they either re-brainwashed or kicked back to where they really belong.

    Reply

  3. AyyA
    Jan 30, 2005 @ 23:56:00

    Beatnik, andUzF
    No I refuse to accept that a Kuwaiti, who has a shred of loyalty to his country would be so destructive, killing his own kin. These people have no nationality. They belong to ” Altakfeer wel Hijra”, ” Alamr bel Ma3roof we Elnahi 3an El monkar”, ” Osama Bin Laden”, “Talibani”, “Zargawi” and the list goes on of the ones that were the product of Saudi Arabiya’s strict teachings, and Egypt’s Ekhwan Elmuslimeen. May all burn in hell.

    Reply

  4. nazzal
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 00:15:00

    Ruby

    هؤلاء كويتيون ، كويتيون

    there is NOT semi kuwaities or real kuwaities
    there is ONLY kuwaities
    it seems that we are still failing to unite and
    to come togather and creat pressure groups
    to change things at the political arena ..
    example , you ladies are waiting and doing
    NOTHING for your rights being political or
    general . there is NO silver plate anymore .
    so move your butts and try to kick ASS .
    may be u can start with

    جمعية الخريجين أو التحالف الوطني أو الممبر الديمقراطي

    Reply

  5. AyyA
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 01:19:00

    نزال
    How can that be done dear? If we are sandwiched between the fanatics of Iran, Saudi Arabia on one hand, and the ever turbulent, power hungry Iraq on the other. With their destructive preaching accumulated like a dormant volcano underneath us, ready to burst. How can we identify them? With the police force scenes, and the worn out detective tales we see on TV or read in news papers? No, more and faster action should be taken.

    And about women participating in politics through societies; I have a history with that. It started when I was a young girl in college. But I stopped begging for my right when I realized that the system was against it. My intention was not politics; I don’t have the least desire to participate in that. My motive was to have the rightful right for my word to be heard. To be able to act when situations like this take place in my country. The system may have quieted me; but it can never stop me from acting.

    Reply

  6. PinkSuedeShoes
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 08:50:00

    Wallah Shagoolich ya Rabab…

    I just kept thinking and thinking last night and couldn’t sleep until I posted something. Read it if you have the time.

    But, it seems the more I thought, the more Questions I had, and the More Questions I had, the less Answers I Found. It’s All So Confusing.

    PSS.

    Reply

  7. minime
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 08:52:00

    Rabab 🙂
    I was at work when my colleague walked in and said the same (salmiya shooting.etc.).
    My first reaction was (A7san).
    I am sorry dear, I mean not sound nasty, but this shit has been mushrooming for so long & our security system fee aakher noamah. And they need a wake up slap.

    This is the bitter medicine that purifies the body later (I hope so anyway, though I won’t be surprised if asses go numb again if things calm down again).
    Go to safat main post office & see for yourself how easy it is to plant a bomb.
    Why has nothing real grave hit us so far? Beats me.
    I am going to email you a pic. that I had posted on my site & removed it later as it really is bad for som3at el Kuwait, but see for yourself how pathetic it is.

    They are Kuwaitis dear & they are nothing but the direct product of the lawlessness & the over-employment status that our country has always existed upon the basis of.
    I find this sad & controversial, but when your & my fellow countrymen carry arms in an effort to correct things (from their point of view, I mean), then this can only mean that they are intelligent & productive people but are bored & live a very non-productive life that they were pissed off with & someone managed to put in their brains (True) productivity if you know what I mean.

    In short, what happens if you buy a pedigree german shepherd dog (a very precious & intelligent dog) but keep him indoors all day & don’t train him or walk him or help him discharge his energy. He’ll turn on you one day & rip you to bits.
    If these kids had a productive life, I am sure they would’ve been designing & inventing instead of turning to murdering their fellow countrymen/women..SIGH..:”-(.

    Or actually, maybe its 7oabat the 2 Americans that were shot by the Mu6eiri kid & he was relieved of punishment?..just a thought.

    Reply

  8. minime
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 09:03:00

    Nazal 3azeezi esma7 li akhtilif ma3ak okhooy.
    There is:-
    1. kuwait darajah oola
    2. kuwaiti jinsiya thanyia
    3. kuwaiti jinsiya thanya maddah 7, o maddah khrah, o 3id o kharbit ya ba3ad galbi
    4. fee kuwaitiyeen min galb wa a9ll bass we framed them as (bidoon) wo t3al fachich.
    wo fee , wo fee, wo fee
    & our total sums up to no more than 1 million wa deeratna gadd el 100 fils….akhhhhh 😦

    Reply

  9. PinkSuedeShoes
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 10:20:00

    Brachypelma,

    I disagree with you Brach. If our Security Forces were sleeping for too long (“our security system fee aakher noamah. And they need a wake up slap.”) then we would have actual bombings and attacks on our malls killing many innocent people and children. At least They Are Attacking before Us Being Attacked.

    Don’t knock them, they are trying their best and they really don’t need criticism or verbal attacks.
    Three men down. Instead of complaining you should be giving them some encouraging words and thanking them for risking their lives to Keep People Like You and Me Safe.
    It might not be too fast for you buddy, but sometimes this is the way it goes.

    I say God Help them, God protect them, and May God Bless them from/for the dirty, bloody work they have to witness in order to keep Kuwait Clean, Safe, and Trouble-Free.

    “Ana Kuwaiti Ana, Ana Gool w Fe3el, W 3zoomy Gowwiyah.” And that goes out not to only First Class citiziens as u put it, but for All People Living in Kuwait and love this Country for what it stands for, what it provides, and what it just plain IS!

    A Fiercely Patriotic Kuwaiti,
    PSS.

    Reply

  10. minime
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 13:09:00

    Pink,
    I have posted my comment on your site not to cram Ruby’s space.
    🙂

    Reply

  11. AyyA
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 14:42:00

    Brachypelma
    It is sad really, and I do agree with you that the system had created this. The nationality was given to “kil min hab we dab” in the process to balance the poles in the parliament without actually questioning the loyalty of these people. But what past is past, and I just hope it’s not too late. This is the time for us to move and ask for a major change in the system. Those societies known for their fanatic activities have to be demolished; the surprising thing is that they are still legitimately active societies. People who do belong to these sects should not be allowed to participate in sensitive positions. I know that this might not sound very democratic, but Kuwait security is above all. More than half of the society is politically paralyzed and the result is a biased, uneven mentality that is totally foreign to us Kuwaitis.
    And about that picture you sent; I have to disagree with you. I think you should post it because it presents reality. I, as a citizen, am sick and tiered of closing my eyes just to make Kuwait look good. In my heart nothing and nowhere can compare to my country. But this picture is an eye opener, an incentive for patriotic citizens to rise and demand action for more protection. Demand for the expertise planning schedules for the root of the system, demand for a strict implementation of these plans. Demand a strategy for reengineering. I’d rather see a safer Kuwait than fantasize a false picture.

    PinkSuedeShoes
    Yes, you are right dear. I do sympathize with the families of the martyrs and I think that they have done a great job as individuals. My argument is not about them (bless their souls); it’s about the system that had put them in such a risking position in the first place. How many more innocent souls have to be brutally taken for us to wake up?

    Reply

  12. DJ
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 14:56:00

    Ruby – I was so involved in my own problems and issues yesterday that I gave little thought to the world, and did not know of what you speak until I read your post. I don’t know what to say. Today, my soul is so bruised that such problems in the world are magnafied with unbearable intensity, and my mind feels like it’s on fire.
    I hope, beyond all hope, that things improve in Kuwait and do not worsen! I hope you find your peace of mind and security!

    Reply

  13. minime
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 19:23:00

    Rabab dear,
    sorry, but I disagree 😦

    Reply

  14. AyyA
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 19:30:00

    DJ
    Thanx for your concern sweetie. And although there has been another two shooting incidents in Kuwait today of which one was close to where I live, but the good news is that they have caught one of the cell leaders. Everyone is tense waiting to see what’s next.

    Brachypelma
    It’s your choice buddy

    Reply

  15. minime
    Jan 31, 2005 @ 20:51:00

    I know buddy,
    & I know you mean it.

    Reply

  16. Jelly Belly
    Feb 01, 2005 @ 00:27:00

    Rabab it’s so hard being away from Kuwait and hearing news of shooting…I cry sometimes and I think to myself when will it stop…I don’t have answers to your questions…I just have hope for change, hope one day that will go back to Kuwait that we remember…I just pray and hope deep in my heart my kids in the future will get to see the beautiful Kuwait I love…maybe it’s wishful thinking but I won’t give up..

    ma agool ila allah ye7afeth al Kuwait o ahalha min kil shar inshallah….

    Stay safe everyone.

    Reply

  17. Jewaira
    Feb 01, 2005 @ 05:40:00

    I think the most important thing is to remain calm and try to understand what is happening. Yes, it is alarming what is happening but did we really not see it coming?

    We are sitting in one of the most dangerous areas of the world, ensconced between neighbours that export their ideologies to our little country.

    On many points I agree with Brachypelma. If you go to the malls on any day, especially the weekends, isn’t the sight of all those young people walking around or sitting about aimlessly just pathetic? Would any young person who valued his existence do that all the time? It is frightening that these young people have no purpose or goal but to ogle each other . In my opinion they are ripe to be picked by any extremist ideology.

    Reply

  18. AyyA
    Feb 06, 2005 @ 14:57:00

    Jelly Belly & Jewaira
    Sorry guys, it was a bit childish of me to react this way, I gess I wasn’t thinking of you guys being abroad and just hearing about it. J honey, may be this is for the better in the long run, don’t worry dear, inshallah killa khair, and Jewaira dear, thanx for shaking me up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

