I am Retiring


Today I have submitted my retirement to mark the day I left the Ministry of Public Works once and for all. More than 20 years of service I think is enough, time for others to take their shares. I have given enough to this institute, had my share of good times and bad. Have been through it all, from a fresh graduate engineer, to a section head, department head, and circulated between different managerial posts; CID Manager, General Planning Manager, Roads Planning Manager, Undersecretary’s office Manager, Minister’s Office Consultant, and finally, Construction Project’s consultant. That means I have seen it from all different perspectives.

I’m proud and honored to say to the world that the Computer Information Center (CID) in the ministry (one of the major support departments) is my baby. It started with me, when I joined it was some small division consisting of non computer people who had hopes and vision but no means for the actual implementation. And with the support of the right management at the time this fetus grew into a full fledged respected entity, that still carries my scent, and my style. The people who are taking care of this unit are my students. And I’m happy I’m leaving my baby in their safe hands.

The time has come to be with myself, to do other things that I’ve always wanted to do. Yoga for one, and publishing my poetry book; which I’ve been postponing for two years now.

My official departure is 30/12/2004, but I have some leaves in my account, so starting with Eid holiday, I’ll be off to Lebanon for a week then to Spain for a whole month, and I’ll celebrate NYE, which is by the way my birthday, in Madrid

Goodbye baby

Lay your weary head my heart

Restful on my faithless arm

Trivial seems a pregnant night

When the sun denies us its steadfast charm

copyright:R.Khaja2004

Posted by Hello

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia
    Nov 03, 2004 @ 14:01:00

    Sweetie, I think you are right it is time for you to rest after 20 years working.

    I felt from your wards that how much you loved your job to let you feel that it is your BABE 🙂

    God bless you for all what you did & wish you all the best.

    Why not, it is time to have fun and to look after yourself & to give more from your time to your family and friends.
    Enjoy your life my dear.

    Reply

  2. Purgatory
    Nov 03, 2004 @ 20:33:00

    eee zain etsween, who needs work anyways. Retire and do something useful like taking the demons out of me 🙂

    Reply

  3. AyyA
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 03:14:00

    Pat
    Thanx dear, it’s really hard to leave something you were doing for years, you don’t drive in the morning to work, the car just takes you there. Not to mention all the colleagues that you practically spent more times with than your own family. But there has to be an end to everything. Heck, I left my X, don’t think leaving the job is going to be any harder 😉
    Cheerz friend

    Reply

  4. mishu1984
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 04:59:00

    kinda early retirement. which is sweet. yalla al you need is a lounge by a sandy beach and mohitos and pina-colada gallore. i prefer bloody mary’s but ohh well you cant always get what you want, but you can get what you need (great song by the way)

    as a matter of fact my dear Rabab, my next post in my blog is dedicated to you 😉

    Reply

  5. Drunk'n'Gorgeous
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 05:01:00

    Darling Rabab, it’s apparent that you’ve put in more than your share of time, effort, and love into your work so you more than earned your “Rabab” time! G’luck with your yoga and poetry. Let me place the first order for your poetry book (signed copy please) 😛

    Have a safe trip, and have lots and lots of fun!

    D&G Lovingly =) (sorry GiGi)

    Reply

  6. AyyA
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 10:30:00

    Mesh
    Thanx sweetie, that is so sweet of you.

    D&G
    One of my first published books is my gift to you 7abeebti (signed, sealed, and delivered)
    Thanx, this would be the first trip in my life, in which I’d not worry ’bout coming back and have to deal with loads of unfinished business. yalla time for you to start off where I finished, good luck.

    Reply

  7. marumba
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 12:18:00

    … ur scent of a woman keeps after ur worthy legacy in q8 public works…:)

    now off to savouring every moment in every chapter of ur life… thats what i’ve embarked on since my fourth year retirement todate…:)

    now,, the butterfly u become to be… free at last to hover from tree to tree… ur journey is ur tripping spree… from the field flowers u shall learn n decree..

    fly high u untamed soul…
    aloof, deep in the sky u soar…
    untouched, unbound, u never fall…
    timeless destiny remains ur port of call…

    Reply

  8. AyyA
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 12:43:00

    P72
    I apologize if I have offended you dude, it was only a figure of speech, and respecting your wish I removed my comment, and ok deal, I will try to tame your demon, no guarantees though 😉
    kilshi wala za3alik

    Reply

  9. AyyA
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 13:23:00

    Dear Marumba
    A free soul I’ve come to be
    Soaring in my destiny
    Not the end rather the begging
    Following your steps; my crony

    Reply

  10. The Don ®
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 20:20:00

    Now only, you have started your life.. you should buy a red corvette, like the ones that retire in the states.. they always buy a vette.. LOL

    Live your life to the fullest… enjoy every second, although I am not the one to say so, I’m living in my own nut shell here in the sand box…

    Reply

  11. AyyA
    Nov 04, 2004 @ 20:52:00

    The Don
    We only make our own nut shell, and it’s a pity. Coz life is beautiful if we know how to make the best of it. We don’t feel this when we are younger, but every second of our life is too precious to go to waste.
    And ’bout the red vette I might do that if I decided to spend the rest of my life in the states, but as long as I’m here, In Q8, no way..

    Reply

  12. mosan mosan
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 12:15:00

    My dear elf mabrook , I wish I can retire too and have my morning coffee with you..
    Mishu I make the perfect bloody mary

    Reply

  13. AyyA
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 14:38:00

    Dear Mosan
    Thanx honey and it will be more appropriate sharing your perfect bloody marry in a brunch after retirement 🙂

    Reply

  14. Peach
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 16:10:00

    Gosh al Mighty that’s so sweet :`) I’m serious about that tear. all I can say to you Ruby is GO. just GO. My heart, hugs & kisses are all with u 🙂

    Reply

  15. AyyA
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 19:31:00

    Thank you peach, it you who’s so sweet.

    Reply

  16. shady q80
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 21:03:00

    I don’t know why but this post makes me feel sad. Good luck and have lots of fun in Madrid and post us some updates on all the festivities.

    Why Madrid?

    Reply

  17. AyyA
    Nov 06, 2004 @ 21:54:00

    Shady Q8i
    May be my poem affected you 😉
    And thanx dear
    ’bout Madrid; I love Spain in general, I love Spanish people. A lot of them come from Arabic origins and proud of it. You don’t sense that in the south coz it’s more or less a cosmopolitan area, but up north it’s a different story. I love to go see Arab heritage in there and just sit and imagine how it was one day when my ancestors were there. Madrid is known to have special rituals at Christmas and NYE, and I always wanted to be there at that time.

    Reply

  18. Peach
    Nov 07, 2004 @ 14:11:00

    why madrid?!!
    why not madrid.
    I whole heartedly agree with u rabab
    to me; Spain is Fantasy Land 🙂

    Reply

  19. Sky Walker
    Nov 08, 2004 @ 06:24:00

    Well Done Rabab. I admire such courageous moves in one’s career. I know I look forward to my retirement..In 100 yers or so(mind you I’m still enjoying my work)

    Reply

  20. AyyA
    Nov 09, 2004 @ 03:13:00

    Sky Walker
    Thanx dear, it’s nice to enjoy what you are doing. I did too, or else I wouldn’t have stayed that long. I was thinking of retirement for four years now, I have other things I wana do, and although takeing this step was not easy, it somehow came by itself at the right time.

    Reply

  21. Poseidon83
    Nov 09, 2004 @ 12:22:00

    GO FOR IT Rabab 🙂
    u really need a rest … 20 YEARS mashallaaah … if i were you i would be in my room just staring at the wall lol 😉 joking =P
    it would be nice to retire 🙂

    Reply

  22. AyyA
    Nov 09, 2004 @ 12:26:00

    Thanx Poseidon, yeh I feel relaxed already 🙂

    Reply

  23. q8tkv
    Dec 01, 2004 @ 22:48:00

    Rabab I know I am late but still I feel I have to let you know that I don’t know you , but from your Blog I can tell that you are a person that can still give . I truly believe that Kuwait need people like you .. even may be you especially . Well I am sure though that a person with your qualification will find , may be, a better way to give and contribute to the nation and who knows ..may be the human race .. and I mean it . so good luck where ever you go

    Reply

Leave a Reply

